Duffle Coat – Part II

After all those inset corners today I didn’t think I had it in me to finish the other side but I soldiered on and did it! Tomorrow, I will construct and attach the hood. I think the coat is looking pretty chic already, don’t you?

sideview

This coat has a lot more shape than the line drawing would have you believe. I know it looks like a big shapless box but it’s actually not at all oversized through the upper body. For most of you, fitting issues should be very minimal with this pattern (I made no alterations except for length) so you can concentrate on those welts and corners. šŸ™‚

Robin asked earlier if it got cold enough here in Florida for a coat. It is 29F right now so that would be a resounding yes! Actually, I find it pretty practical to have some sort of outerwear even though it doesn’t get cold often. I can toss a jacket or coat over my usual clothes and remove it as the day warms up (which it always does). You cannot do with a sweater!

18 Comments

Filed under Burda WOF, Year of the Jacket

18 responses to “Duffle Coat – Part II

  1. Florida’s climate sounds similar to Sydney. Your coat is coming along very quickly. I love the seamlines around the shoulders.

  2. Very elegant (and not at all like the Paddington bear-esque duffle coats of mychild hood).

  3. Gah how do you get so neat ? everything you make is so professional .

  4. Your fabric really shows up the details. Looking lovely.

  5. Laura

    Oh, I have thought about making this coat as well! But I was so intimidated by all those inset corners. They look incredibly professional on your garment! Do you have any recommendations for them?

  6. Gina R P

    Do you have any suggestions for finding this pattern? My luck has not been so good!

  7. Chic and stunning. Well done.

  8. Marie

    Do you baste pieces in order to get everything so exact? Your work is fantastic! Any suggestions or sources you would recommend for improving the details as you do?
    Did you opt not to make a muslin and if so what was it on this pattern that told you that you would not have fitting issues?
    Thank you for your detailed descriptions, they are a great help.
    Marie

  9. Ahhhh, I love this pattern! Classy and classic.

  10. Sue

    It is quite beautiful even unfinished. I’m glad it has a hood. I love hoods. šŸ™‚

  11. Lindsay T

    Echoing a couple of comments made already:

    1. How difficult was that sleeve piece? Looks challenging.
    2. Yes, could you write a post on how you achieve such meticulous results all the time? Everything you make always lines up, the topstitching is perfect, it looks like expensive RTW, etc.

    Love this duffle coat! I’m glad you switched to this pattern and went more traditional prep.

  12. I love this! It’s really gorgeous.

  13. Rhoda K

    Such a nice coat! I love the detail. I may have to go in search of this pattern.

  14. Linda W.

    Yes please, I too would love to see a tutorial on those inset pieces! This coat is absolutely lovely and when I live in a cold climate again I’ll have a go at making similar.

  15. summersetbanks

    Looks great so far. It does look boxy from the line drawing, and that’s why I passed it by, although liked the whole concept of the duffle coat and the inset corners.

  16. Kathy

    Gigi,

    What method do you use to trace the Burda patterns?

    Do you add the seam allowances to your fabric and trace the patterns without adding seam allowances?

    Thank you.

    Kathy

    • I used to just trace with smooth examining table paper but my eyes are going šŸ™‚ and the Burda sheets have been condensed so I broke down and bought some real tracing vellum from the art supply. What a difference! I trace of all the stitching lines and then add the seam/hem allowances to the paper before cutting out. I can’t be trusted to remember to chalk them onto the fabric!