D-Ring Belt – A Quick Project

This is my favorite casual belt. It’s a humble little cotton webbing belt which originally belonged to my son.

khakibelt

It works well with a very casual jeans outfit (or even shorts) and fits perfectly around my hips as shown here on my recent trip to the Citrus Bowl (I’m 2nd from right) – ordinarily I don’t have the end flapping around like that, I swear!

Recently, the belt disappeared for a few days so I started looking around for d-rings in order to make a replacement. Have you seen the Dritz d-rings? Ugh, they are so wimpy! Luckily, I found these beefy boys in Lora Lee’s Etsy shop and they are perfect!

drings

I didn’t have any 2″ webbing in my stash to use as a base but then I found IT: some seatbelting swiped from my friend’s shop last year (he keeps it on hand for testing machines brought in by auto shops). I had this pretty ribbon in my stash (from Cynthia’s Fine Fabrics) and fused it to the seat belting with Heat ‘n’ Bond. Fusing – or gluing – is really necessary because otherwise the ribbon is going to scoot along the slippery seat belting as you stitch.

I continued the ribbon around to the back for about 12″ since that side will show while the belt is being worn. Be sure you heat-seal both cut ends of the webbing/belting (I used a lighter that I keep in my sewing room for this purpose) before attaching the ribbon.

wrappedend

Then it was just a matter of edgestitching all around,

sewing1

and attaching the d-rings. I sewed this on my walking-foot machine with a size 20 needle and #69 bonded nylon thread (not a necessity, I was just too lazy to change it). I don’t think this would be a problem to sew on a regular machine with a large needle and standard thread.
sewing2

I’m really happy with the way this turned out and can’t wait to make a few more. I’m always looking for an excuse to shop for ribbons and trims!

finishedbelt

Seatbelt belts – they could catch on!

13 Comments

Filed under Accessories, Aren't you glad you sew?

13 responses to “D-Ring Belt – A Quick Project

  1. Rosie

    G – you look fabulous. I love the new belt!! Tell me, did one of my little friends hide the original belt from you :-)?

  2. Brilliant. This is one of those “now why didn’t I think of that” moments. I have webbing, but for some reason I’m always trying to beef up ribbons with all kinds of interfacing and whatnot. This makes it so easy. Thanks!

  3. RobbieK

    Love it! You are so creative.

  4. Oh man, I wish I had seen this a few weeks ago.

    I just bought about 5 packs of dritz D-rings, and you are right- they are incredibly wimpy. I’m not impressed, but will probably just use them for gifts. I’ll put your supplier on my list!

  5. Christy Z

    Love it! I am all for supporting Etsy shops…but had to Google looking for 2″ brass rings to copy a belt I saw and found this website:
    http://www.buckleguy.com (not affiliated)

  6. Heather

    reat idea Gigi, now I know just what to do with all those woven Bavarian ribbons I purchased off of Ebay some years ago. Fabulous. Thanks!

  7. Cindy

    Well that’s just too clever for words. I love it!

  8. What a great idea. I have had a piece of ribbon in my stash for years that I have been trying to find something to use it on. Today it will be come a belt:)

    Thanks for the post!

  9. How clever! I sew seatbelt webbing on my regular machine with a jeans needle (90 or 100) (kayaking gear, very boring) and it works just fine. I had never thought of making something pretty from such prosaic stuff.

  10. Carmel

    I’ve been reading your blog for a few months now and have always thought you did beautiful work but too tricky for my skill level. This belt is something I could do, so thanks for the instructions!
    PS. I’ve often wondered what you looked like & would really like to see pictures of your finished garments on you (as well as on your dress form) as I think it would inspire your readers even more.

  11. Kim

    Great belt. And its not kleptomania – its merely accumulating.
    Now I must go visit my friend who makes horses harness ….