Vintage Delights

Phyllis recently received a treasure-trove of vintage patterns that belonged to her grandmother and mother (many of which she is currently selling through her Etsy Shop). Imagine my delight when she hand-picked two beauties just for me!

Phyllis knows that I love an interesting sleeve and often buy patterns for that reason alone. This first one (from 1970) is gorgeous (and unusual!) but very, very easy to duplicate. It’s simply a full sleeve with half stitched to the cuff and the rest left free. I may use this on my Milly blouse.

jiffydress

sleevediagram

This Spadea stunner is still as stylish today as when it was released in 1973. I’ll probably make this up as is but a bit shorter. Notice that the sleeve and yoke are one piece! I scanned the line drawing of the sleeve pattern to better illustrate this. This is a perfect example of the types of details you can find in vintage patterns that are so rare today.

spadea

sleeveyoke

If you enjoy vintage patterns as much as I do, be sure to go and check out Phyllis’ Etsy shop. If you see something you like I would move quickly as I’ve already missed out on two that I had my eye on. Thank you again, Phyllis!

9 Comments

Filed under Vintage Patterns

9 responses to “Vintage Delights

  1. summersetbanks

    Very interesting sleeves; yes, a reason to love vintage patterns. Going *right now* to Phyllis’ store!

  2. wonderful details! It will be great to see these made up when the mood strikes you.

  3. Auntie Allyn

    Luv luv luv the Simplicity pattern!!

  4. Oh I love them!! Gigi, you never fail to brighten my day with little gems like that 🙂 Thanks!

  5. Love those vintage patterns!

  6. Lindsay T

    I bought a great jacket pattern from Phyllis. Me too, am loving vintage patterns now.

    I bought some fantastic Milly silk at Elliott Berman Textiles, BTW. I think they have it online.

  7. You have a couple of great patterns from Phyllis. I look forward to seeing what you create with them!

  8. Gigi I was actually afraid that you already had the Simplicty and was glad you didn’t! Spadea patterns pretty rare so that one was a slam dunk…that raglan sleeve is seriously good drafting.

  9. Els

    The Spadea sleeve design looks really nice, I never saw such a sleeve with cut on yoke which has a dart for the shoulder.
    I do know that those sleeve designs with cut on yoke exists but I only have memories with those sleeve designs that has a shoulder sleeve seam.

    Enjoy your purchases, thanks to Phyllis mom and grandmother.