Happy New Year!

There’s just nothing like a bright, shiny New Year full of hope and promise, is there? I have set a few sewing goals for 2011:

*12 jackets (this was so much fun that I want to do it again!)
*A couple of sundresses
*Solid knit tops
*Milly blouse (now that I have all the ingredients)
*Navy duffle coat
*Navy suede or Ultrasuede jacket for Bryan
*Master my collarette binding machine (the Kansai 8103-F)
*Use my Merrow purling machine more often (or sell it!)
*Get my industrial embroidery machine up and running again
*Have my Singer 143W refurbished and put into a stand

Of course, my household goal list is really, really long but tops on the list is finishing off the side yard. I am tired of trudging through dirt every time I take out the garbage! We’ll be clearing out the rest of the plants on Sunday so that’s a start.

Remember the horn toggles I bought for my black duffle coat? Well, I was so pleased with them that I bought more. They were so inexpensive I couldn’t pass them up! I bought a few more black ones and some interesting black/cream ones.

blackhorn

whitehorn

I plan on lining my navy duffle coat with this wonderfully soft Pendleton wool plaid from Gorgeous Fabrics. Since I’ll be wearing this to football games I was looking for the same plaid used in the school uniforms (Stewart Hunting) and this was pretty close. To make the coat easy to get on and off I’ll line the sleeves with a navy satin coat lining (also from GF). Ann has some wonderful coat linings on her site right now so if you’re planning on making any outerwear this year you’d better order now because they won’t be easy to find once it warms up.

tartan

This piece of deliciousness is also from Gorgeous Fabrics. It’s a reversible heavy cotton jacquard that I’ll be using for a jacket, pattern to be determined. It’s a very good weight for an unlined jacket. It’s labelled dry clean only but I am going to wash a swatch and see how it turns out.

jacquard

I wish I had some sewing to show you but I don’t! I’ll get back on track next week, I promise.

13 Comments

Filed under Fabric, Notions, Year of the Jacket

13 responses to “Happy New Year!

  1. LisaB

    Happy New Year! You’ve got a good mix of goals, and it will be fun to follow your progress.

    I’ve got a Pegasus coverstitch machine that is a post mount model, so I’ll be especially interested in any projects you blog about where you use your collarette binder. Since I only have one coverstitch machine, I’ve hinted to DH that it would be great if he’d make a piece that attaches to the post but turns the machine into a flatbed. It would make hemming a bit more stable. Perhaps I should add that to my 2011 goals: Convince DH that he should make that piece for me. 😉

  2. I just found your blog today. Happy new year.

    Awesome jackets!

  3. happy new years!
    the black & white toggles look really interesting. so neat!

  4. Happy New Years, Gigi!! I think I need to order some of those toggles…

  5. Loved reading about your jackets in 2010, and am looking forward to those of 2011. Actually, I’m really looking forward to ALL the jackets that everyone who signed up for the challenge (is that what it’s called?) will be stitching. (Yes, I “lurk” on Stitcher’s Guild.)

  6. sewforward

    Looking forward to seeing what you sew this coming year. Also, I hope you will be bloggin about your sewing machine goals. Always love to hear about the unique seing machines you have. Thanks for a great blogged year.

  7. vernonfashionstudio

    Happy New Year! Looks like you have a good path laid out for 2011. I look forward to reading about it all.

    Linda T

  8. Summerset

    Oh, looks like you’ve got a great year planned!

  9. jennifer

    Happy New Year!! It looks like you are going to have another great year with all of your sewing projects planned out.

  10. Happy New Year to you. It looks like you have some excellent plans for 2011!

  11. cidell

    Well Gigi, you have me believing I can make jackets and coats 🙂 You had a great year and I’m looking forward to seeing what you sew in 2011. You always inspire me.

  12. Pingback: What’s next? « MezzoCouture