Pique Simplicity 2443 – Part I

When I was cleaning up this weekend, I found this sea-green cotton pique hanging up in one of my closets. There are ginormous white flowers along one selvage and I thought it might be fun to play with the pattern a little. I just couldn’t pull the trigger on any of the fabrics I posted a few days ago (and thank you all for your input!) so I decided that finding this fabric was a sign!

Here’s what I’ve come up with so far. I’m not sure if I want to recut that right front to show more of the flower or not. I’m thinking that I’ll cut the right band with some white and the left band solid green. Obviously, this version will be pocketless.

front

This is the back. I would have liked more white but I was limited in yardage and wanted to save one flower in case I recut the front.

back

This could turn out to be a really cool jacket or it could end up being ridiculous. I wonder what Tim Gunn would say? Would he rub his chin and say ‘this worries me’ or would he say ‘this is fresh, fun and flirty!’? Hmmmm

14 Comments

Filed under Simplicity, Year of the Jacket

14 responses to “Pique Simplicity 2443 – Part I

  1. Beth

    I think it is very cool. 🙂

  2. Colleen P.

    I like it! It definitely won’t be something you’ll see everyone else wearing either.

  3. I think it’s a cute idea! You live in Florida, it’ll work there–hope that opinion doesn’t turn you from the idea. It was not meant “that way.” More like: it’s fun, it’s casual, go for it!!

  4. Hmm..I think you should change the neckline to a V to draw the eye down and away from the flora. I agree with others that it will quirky and unique.

  5. Summerset

    Love it!

  6. Miss Celie

    Ok, Seriously. That looks amazing.

  7. Sally

    Definitely fresh and flirty. I like it a lot!

  8. Elaray

    I think it’s great! I think Tim would like it too.

  9. Kelly in MKE

    Fresh AND Flirty!

  10. I don’t care what Tim would say, I love it! What a great use of the fabric! Are you going to add tabs? And are you going to bring any more of the white to the front? This will look great over white pieces!!!

    • Thank you, Carolyn! And, yes, I do believe I might need a white “border” (as in a piping or binding) to bring it all together – good call.

  11. I vote for “fresh, fun and flirty”. I like it 🙂

  12. Love this fabric!!

  13. OP Gal

    Love it. So-o-o-o unique.