Hot Patterns Marrakesh Pants – Finally

While I haven’t made the Three Graces yet, this is officially my new favorite HP pattern! I’ve been working on these pants here and there for quite a few weeks and I am so happy that they are finally finished. In reality this is a quick project but you know how it is when there are constant interruptions and you have to put something side for a few days or a week.

I apologize up front for the poor mirror photos. I wanted you to be able to see them on me rather than on my mannequin so I guess these are better than nothing. One of these days I will take the time to learn how to photograph myself with the aid of a tripod and self-timer.

fulllength

closeup

This is before hemming, hence all the threads around the bottom. πŸ™‚ Since I was using a pretty heavy linen I decided to make a size 6 and allow for 1″ side seams just in case. In a thinner, drapier fabric it’s nice to have more fullness but more fitted is always better with sturdier fabrics, IMO. I ended up not needing any of the excess but it’s always nice to have a little insurance since different fabrics fit differently.

As with all HP pants, the fit was nearly perfect for me right out of the envelope (you have to love that!). I made one alteration: I cut 1″ off the top of the waist. Not only am I short, I also wanted a slightly lower rise. If you do this, realize you’ll have to add to the lengthen the waistband. I just let out some of the extra I added as fitting insurance.

Since I have long legs for my height, the length was perfect for a flat or low-heeled shoe so no changes there. I wish you could see the back – Trudy’s magic L-curve makes my derriere look magnificent, if I do say so myself. Check out Trudy’s derriere in her Youtube videos and see for yourself.

You’ll notice that I didn’t include the pockets. I’m not much of a pocket person and, even if I were, I probably wouldn’t want them in a white pant since I’d have to find a suitable skin-toned fabric for the bags. I really dislike seeing white pocket bags on a white pant or skirt.

I made mock flat-felled seams at the side which gives a casual look and reinforces the seam nicely.

flatfelled

Instead of a self-fabric drawstring (which would have been pretty heavy in this fabric) I stitched two layers of 1/2″ twill tape together. The waist and fly facings were cut from a white herringbone shirting fabric to reduce bulk. I interfaced the shirting with Pro-Sheer Fusible to give it a little extra body.

facing

Instead of a button at the waist, I used a trouser hook. I also made my fly on the left side instead of the right because I am so used to that wearing jeans all the time.

fly

I used a plain, topstitched 2″ hem for weight.

hem

These are just the thing for going out to breakfast on a Sunday morning – as comfy as PJs but a lot more stylish and flattering. This is a pattern that I’ll be making many times over!

26 Comments

Filed under Hot Patterns

26 responses to “Hot Patterns Marrakesh Pants – Finally

  1. Margaret

    I love your blogs. I am a beginner sewer and I want to improve. I read your blogs and it give me inspiration to try and maybe one day I will be a better sewer and the clothes I make will not look homemade but like ready to wear. Keep up the outstanding job that you do and thanks again for allowing me to read your blogs. Have a blessed day.

  2. Raquel

    Ditto that – it looks like you did a really great job on those. I’m also still a learner and work like yours makes me want to spend time on the finishing touches!

  3. Belinda (sew4Fun)

    Gorgeous pants! I may have to get this pattern after seeing yours. Btw, I bought KS#2845 after seeing all your lovely versions and it’s now my favourite knit top, so thanks for the inspiration. I don’t always have the time to comment but I always enjoy reading your blog.

  4. I love these on you, and I’m looking forward to making myself a pair.

  5. Yummy pants. I just might have to get that pattern.

    CarlaF-in Atlanta

  6. Anne Szabao

    Love your pants. They look like a wardrobe staple. Gigi, What do I search for in YouTube to get Trudy’s sewing info especially the Magic L Curve. thanks Anne

  7. Your pants do look great on you. The fit is perfect.

  8. They look great! I’m about 3/4 of the way finished with mine — in a much, much bigger size and with alterations. πŸ˜‰

  9. I think it was a good choice to have made it more fitted. Not only because of the heavier fabric, but in my experience linnen also .. (how do you say that in english).. expands (?) a lot after a few hours of wearing.

    Those trousers look lovely on you!

  10. Wow Gigi..these are Fab !

    I agree that Trudy drafts THE BEST pants. They fit me well right out of the envelope too !

    I’ve has this pattern for a while, and made a muslin that fit great…for the muslin I just threaded elastic through the waist, and I may make the “wearable” pair with elastic too..since I don’t tuck tops in anymore. But wow, what a sophisticated pair of elastic waist pants these will be!

  11. Fabulous! I’m going to have to get this pattern.

  12. Sally

    Your pants are gorgeous and fit you beautifully. Well worth the wait! I love seeing your attention to detail. Off to check out the you tube video you mentioned.

  13. Those are beyond fabulous on you! That’s it – I have to get me that pattern.

  14. Cindy

    I’m seriously tempted to buy this pattern. Nice work.

  15. Anne Szabao

    Gigi, Thank you for the link. Anne

  16. Ah those are great Gigi! Makes me think of a pair of linen pants I had in the 80’s that were dyed with geniune indigo. They did the most wonderful fade as I washed and wore them over a couple of years. I’e love to find a fabric like that somehow (or maybe dye my own)

  17. I love these pants. Thanks for the tips on the pattern.

  18. Sharon

    I love the attention to detail. and please tell me where to get labels like that. I’ve always wanted some.

    please send me the label info: sharonesq@gmail.com

  19. Summerset

    Elegant and comfy – that’s a lot to ask, but this pair delivered! Excellent job.

  20. Marvellous finishions, i’ve to lurn a lot, sure there i will. I’m happy to find your blog