To renew or not to renew? That is the question…

wof

I have subscribed to Burda World of Fashion for what seems like forever! Not only are the styles great but it is enjoyable as a fashion magazine as well. I get lots of good ideas from it’s pages. And, being from Germany, I was practically weaned on it. I didn’t even know you could buy a pattern in an envelope until I was in middle school, that is how much the roadmap of pattern lines was part of my girlhood.

I have known for a couple of months that my subscription was going to expire this month and yesterday I received the renewal notice in the mail. I’ve been seriously thinking of not renewing. I have noticed over the past year that fewer styles are available in a size 34 – most are starting at 36. True, it’s really not hard for me to grade down a 36 through the chest and shoulders. The trouble is that I am so severely limited as to sewing time that I don’t want to make those additional alterations. And there are so many other patterns that do come in my size – why pay $80/year for WOF? But, you know what will happen: I will let my subscription lapse and then I’ll see a WOF style that I absolutely can’t live without. I’ll have to call all over the country looking for that issue and then I will vow to subscribe for the rest of my life. Clearly, I’m damned if I do, damned if I don’t.

15 Comments

Filed under Burda WOF

15 responses to “To renew or not to renew? That is the question…

  1. BWOF is like Threads…you just gotta have it! 🙂

  2. I say renew. I’m a recent BWOF convert and I find it inspiring beyond just the patterns on the pages, it seems that anything I see in the fashion world can somehow be constructed by piecing together a bit of this and a bit of that from BWOF. Not to mention the fact that I get far more enjoyment out of just flipping through my BWOFs than any other leisure magazine could possibly offer. That’s just my two cents!

  3. It’s a lot of money if you don’t use it, but I subscribe just to see the better pattern trends. I’ve noticed that they are printing smaller sizes in the printed patterns that you can buy at retail stores.

  4. I can’t believe I’m saying this, but I may not renew after this year. I’m really hopeful I’ll get the swing of this drafting tings and be able to use more of the VERY on trend Japanese patterns. Soooo, I would say from my memory, you’ve made one BWOF and you found the pattern envelope for it. Maybe, just maybe, you can let it go and see how you feel.

  5. I stopped mine 2 years ago as I was not seeing them up at all. If you ever need a copy email me I have a friend who stocks it in his fabric shop. You can still browse online. Take the $ you save and buy a Marfy catalogue instead!

  6. Susan C

    I let my subscritpion lapse about a year ago. Then I found another outlet and was just buying it monthly, along with (but certainly not limited to) Austrailian Stitches, McCalls and Vogue pattern magazines, and Threads). I stopped buying them all this January. At first it was tough but it really is nice not to have to make decisions on storage. I also know that many of the basic patterns that appear in BWOF eventually end up in the Burda patterns collection so I tell myself that’s a back up. And lastly, I have done the big hunt to get the issue I just had to have and then didn’t sew up anything from…can’t even remember why I had to have it. But it’s reassuring to know that there is always a way to get it if you just have to have it! Good luck!

  7. I can’t imagine NOT subscribing. I’m a recent convert but I love the magazine. I do my altering to 34 as I trace so it takes no more time than if I was tracing one of the offered sizes.

  8. I have never subscribed but instead buy individual issues from Sew Baby. There is another vendor who sells individual issues, too, but I’m blanking on the name. If you’re interested, email me and I’ll look it up.
    The price for one issue is either $8 or $10 plus S/H so it is definitely more expensive for an individual issue than what it costs in a subscription but there are many issues that I would never use anyway.
    Also, are you a member of the Yahoo Burda group? If not, you might want to check it out. Many good tips, opinions on patterns and general conversation/advise about the BWOF patterns:
    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/burdaenglish/

  9. Carol in Denver

    Do you forsee any teaching/tutoring of sewing in your future? If so, back issues could be a real resource, because “really” Burda’s patterns don’t go out of style. In fact, if you look critically at back issues, you will see there are only a few dozen garments, which get updated with fresh colors and newer photography (which often doesn’t really display the garment lines). I know this by playing around with my 20-year collection of Burda WOF — heck I’ve got the space to keep the stacks, and pattern hoarding is an innocent hobby —
    So what I’m asking is whether you might be able to help other people’s interest and understanding of sewing and fashion. If there are no such teaching gigs on the horizon, then your drafting skills are good enough to duplicate the offerings in new issues just by looking at the technical drawings on the website.

  10. Uta

    Hi, first of all I love the beautiful tops and dresses you’re sewing! Second, I just had to comment reading you’re from Germany as well. Remember Aenne Burda’s editorials in Burda Moden? Always with a “message”, unthinkable today! About the subscription issue: First, BWOF is expensive, but not (much) more so than other fashion magazines, so do you enjoy reading/looking at it? Second, I’ve found it’s the least expensive way of building a “pattern stash”, especially since I often go back and sew from issues months or years back. Just my two cents!

  11. Katharine in Brussels

    I know, I know. I’ve lost 12kg in a similar way that you have, and although sometimes the measuring tape says my HB is 34, maybe 34.5” and other times it’s below that, could it be just breathing? Dunno. I cut out a size 38 dress and it was ENORMOUS, like batwings hanging from the already-drooping shoulders, whoa! Do what’s best for you, and at $80 if you find a single issue here and there you like then that’s cheaper.

  12. Danielle

    As of this year the Dutch Knipmode changed the sizerange. All regular patterns start at size 34. The Plus-size patterns start at 44.

    I think the readers asked for it and Knip listened. So maybe if enough people ask Burda they might change as well. I guess it’s worth a try.

  13. Olivia

    I would keep on subscribing – I quit last year and now there is a couple of issues I wish I had now – Jan 2008 for the wrap blouse and July 2008 for that summer dress…:(. 80.00 sounds like alot in one lump sum but that’s 12 issues for approx 6.70 each. The issues you don’t want, you could sell on Ebay and they are selling for about 15.00 an issue. So…I bit the bullet and subscribed again!! Anyone have a Jan 2008 issue they want to sell??

  14. Karen Marino

    Do you still have an online source for individual copies of Burda World of Fashion?