Kwik-Sew 2845

Since I was unable to go away with DBF this weekend due to my less-than-speedy recovery from oral surgery (blech) I am working on getting things cleaned up and finishing up some UFOs.

I had this beautiful fabric leftover from my latest Cosmopolitan Dress and wanted to squeeze out a top before tossing the scraps. Kwik-Sew 2845 seemed perfect – a little bit bohemian – for the paisley print. This used to be one of my very favorite TNT patterns. However, when I lost weight a couple of years ago, the pattern no longer fit and it’s taken me this long to get around to retracing it. Lazy! My original pattern had been a small with a 1″ FBA so this time I decided to just start with a straight XS. Since my bust is much smaller I skipped the FBA but I did add 1″ in length because it seemed a wee bit short. Overall, I am pretty happy with the fit but I will do an FBA next time as the underbust seam is about 1/2″ too high and I’d like more gathers around the neckline. I’d also like a little more length so I’ll add another inch.

Other changes I made to the pattern was a 5/8″ forward shoulder adjustment and I eliminated the gathers under the bust. I think I like it better with the gathers so I’m adding them back in for the next one.

ks2845

2845front

Instead of making buttonholes for the neckline cording I added a seam at the center front. I just think it’s easier and looks a lot neater. Yeah, I know my match is a wee bit off but I knew the cord would cover it so I just left it! No matter how carefully I measure and mark my buttonholes are always a tiny bit off and there is no room for error here. Instead of the ribbon the pattern calls for I made self-fabric cording.

ks2845neckline

2845back

The sleeves are from Kwik-Sew 2643, a long-discontinued pattern. I already knew from last time that they fit into the armscye perfectly so it was just a matter of tracing off a new size. Remember to remove 1/8″ from the armscye of 2845 because it has a 3/8″ hem allowance.

I think this jersey has really had a workout this weekend! First, there was Summerset’s Burda WOF top, Cidell’s maxi dress and now my humble little scrap top. Well, I’m off to make those alterations and trace the pattern onto oak tag!

11 Comments

Filed under Kwik-Sew

11 responses to “Kwik-Sew 2845

  1. Wow! I don’t think I’ve seen a bad garment made from this fabric!!! Nice top and glad to see you sewing again!

  2. Beautiful! I love the neckline on this pattern. I think I even have the pattern, having bought it a long time ago after seeing something you made from it. Time to dig it out.

  3. Oh, and Candyo just made it up too. I’m still mulling what to do with my scraps. I don’t have a TNT knit top. Yours is so stinking cute!

  4. Beautiful top! Great use of leftovers and you have an eye for pattern placement. Great idea to add a center front seam and eliminate sewing buttonholes. I stress a bit when sewing buttonholes…especially on knits. Can’t wait to see more of your creations…Susan

  5. subversivesewer

    I love how all of us who made dresses from this fabric are now making tops from the leftovers! Check mine out if you’ve got a minute!

  6. Summerset

    Very cute! I love the drawstring detail. The blue version it great too, very nice print.

  7. designdreamer

    “remove 1/8″ from the armscye of 2845 because it has a 3/8″ hem allowance”
    Huh? I don’t get this, and since I’ve tried to morph sleeves from other patterns, I’m definitely interested. What does the hem allowance have to do with it?

  8. Designdreamer, 2845 view A and B are sleeveless and therefore have a 3/8″ hem allowance at the armscye to turn in and stitch. In order to attach a sleeve with a 1/4″ seam allowance, it is necessary to remove that extra 1/8″.

  9. Karla

    OMG- I had forgotten all about this pattern! I made it for the DD ages ago when she gave up dorm life and no longer needed cheap twin, extra-long sheets. She saw old sheets. I saw thin cotton knit tops to wear with pajama pants. Your tops are (obviously) far more elegant. Thanks for giving me a reason to dig that pattern out again.

  10. The top is a nice as the dress. I WANT THIS FABRIC and I might have to break my diet………….

    I’m so happy you are back to “sewing and showing”.

  11. WOW- You have such a keen eye. Not everyone can use a border print so effectively and aesthetically pleasing. It is beyond fabulous>