Burda WOF 4/07 #107B Dress

Here are some photos of the finished dress. I love it but you can see that the skirt is much straighter than the illustrations would have you believe. The little cap sleeves are adorable and so easy. I love the fact that they are cut on the fold and therefore require no hemming.

I thought I’d copy Phyllis and actually style my photos for a change. I’m wearing this today with some high-heeled black boots. Yes, it’s warm outside but it is still February and I’m talking myself into believing that it’s still winter plus I have an appointment today that requires the strut and I-mean-business attitude only high-heeled boots can give you!

burdadress1

Here’s a better shot of the dress itself:

burdadress2

As you can see, I did not use the elastic finish on the neckline. Instead, I serged some plain lingerie elastic to the wrong side of the neckline and turned it under. The neckline could then be topstitched but I often use my blindstitch machine instead because it gives me a dressier finish. On a print like this you can’t even see the tiny little stitches! Hmm, maybe I should do a quick little tutorial so you can see how easy it is.

burdadressdetail

The fabric is a fantastic rayon/lycra that I bought last year from Ebay seller Bestonlinefabrics. I’ve purchased a few things from this seller and it’s all been really nice.

UPDATE 2/26/08: The tutorial is up! Here’s a link: TSD tutorial.

20 Comments

Filed under Burda WOF, Fabric

20 responses to “Burda WOF 4/07 #107B Dress

  1. Janice C.

    Fabulous dress – and Gigi it’s so GOOD to have you back. Very best wishes to you.

  2. Summerset

    Such a great dress and the boots are fab, too. I have looked at that eBay seller’s fabric, but never bought any. I ought to go take another peek!

  3. Great dress! And yes, please, do a blind stitch tutorial.

  4. Gigi, if there is not as much room as you would like in the skirt, how about adding godets at the s.s. and CF/CB that extend high into the skirt? If you have enough extra fabric, that is …

    I can definitely see you wearing those shoes with this dress, btw! You go girl!

  5. Gigi, would love a little tutorial on the neckline finish. It looks great. Lovely dress, hoped you killed at the appointment!

  6. Oh, lovely! Beautifully styled too!

  7. Pingback: Elasticated blindstitched neckline finish « The Sewing Divas

  8. Stunning dress, congratulations!

  9. alice

    You are wonderful! Thanks for sharing the sewing information I need to make a dress Not look like one hot mess made at home.

  10. Olivia

    The dress is beautiful!! The neckline looks perfect, I’ll have to take a look at your tutorial.

  11. Lovely dress, is the pattern still current. I don’t seem to be able to find it online.

  12. I love your dress indeed. I also love your technique. Could applying this elastic and blind stithing in this manner be a subsitute for using neck and front facings? I wonder about this because I have a problem with front facings rolling outward on these types of tops and bodices even though I understitch.

  13. Beautiful dress!Thanks for the tutorial too!

  14. Love the dress. I gave away my old US Blindstitch machine through freecycle not too long ago – probably a mistake, but I was in a cleaning frenzy and it needed service badly. I’m thinking about picking up one of the smaller lightweight machines. Thanks for the heads up on this model, and for the tutorial. Lovely lovely dress.

  15. I love this idea! I’m a blindstitcher from way back, but on my normal sewing machine. I had no idea that you could get a blindstitch machine for that price. And the results are amazing!