Another New Dress – Part 2

As you can see, work on the dress hasn’t come very far. I’ve had a busy work week with very little time to sew. I didn’t make much progress on Memorial Day either! However, I am determined to finish it up this weekend as I’m feeling guilty about the many UFOs in my sewing room. Yet, I just keep starting new projects because that’s more fun than trying to remember where I was on a project I stopped 6 months ago, sigh. Must. Get. Organized!

Anyway, I wanted to take advantage of the coordinating fabrics I chose for the project. Yet, I didn’t want to give the dress too much of a bohemian look with lots of pattern blocking. Instead of using the contrast for the midriff inset I decided to use 1/8″ uncorded piping in the seam instead. I think it’s a very nice, subtle detail, don’t you? I’m still on the fence about the hem bands. I have cut them out of the main fabric with the intention of simply piping the seam but now I’m wondering if I should use the contrast fabric instead? Decisions, decisions. I might have to try both before I make a commitment.

In this second photo you can just barely see the buttonloops I added at the center front. I have some lovely vintage pearl buttons that will be added shortly.

4 Comments

Filed under Alterations, Fabric, McCall's

4 responses to “Another New Dress – Part 2

  1. I really like those 2 fabrics together. The piping and button loops are nice details. I think the contrast fabric might look good on the bottom to balance the top pieces, but I’m sure whatever you decide will look fantastic as usual!

  2. nanflan

    2 thoughts–“less is more” and “repetition”

    The piping on the midriff bands is a nice touch, and subtle (less is more). Repeating the same treatment on the sleeve and hem bands would unify the “theme” of your dress.

    Love the black and white!

  3. Gigi, I vote for trying both – there’s nothing like a mock-up of different treatments to really see the benefits/deficits of each clearly. And if one doesn’t hit you immediately, then sleep on it – things look so different the next day.

  4. Another great looking dress in progress. I have to admit I have gotten hooked on this dress since reading A Dress A Day and seeing hers and yours made up. I bought it today at 1/2 price, I just couldn’t wait another week for it to be $1.99. Now to decide what fabric to try.

    I really like your current fabric choices.