My Son’s Prom Shirt


My son wants a 1970s-style shirt to wear to the prom. I found a couple of vintage patterns on Ebay. The one pictured here is the one we’ve decided to use as we both like the lines and fit. Unfortunately, it isn’t his size – he’s a 38 with a 16 1/2 neck – so I’m grading it up. I’ve done the tissue-fitting and am taking time off today to make the alterations and cut a quick muslin. He will be home from practice around 7:00 tonight so hopefully I can cut the shirt out tonight and sew it up tomorrow. Prom is on Saturday night and he has a game on Friday night – oh, and then there’s WORK – so I don’t have much free time. But I’m not worried. Once I have the fit down, it’ll only take a couple of hours to make the shirt. Groovy, huh?

2 Comments

Filed under Patterns, vintage

2 responses to “My Son’s Prom Shirt

  1. Anonymous

    Can’t wait to see the final product!!! ~ Melissa

  2. Julia

    Wow, you’re a nice mom. If my son told me he wanted me to make him a shirt a week before prom I’d tell him to go to Goodwill.