HP Deneuve Tuxedo Shirt – Take Three (Part I)

Good morning readers! Well, let’s first get the obvious out of the way: yes, I’ve been gone for awhile but nothing’s wrong. In fact, everything’s right because I finally, finally, finally got a JOB! Yes, I am once again among the gainfully employed – woohoo! It’s a little tough getting used to a set schedule once again but it’s getting easier every week. This past Sunday I was actually able to spend a couple of hours in my sewing room. I know that’s not a lot but it was very therapeutic. Thanks again to all of you who emailed to check on me during my absence, I’m quite flattered. :-)

Sooooooo, when I went into my sewing room last weekend I thought I’d work on the dress pattern I’d been altering. But, I just didn’t feel like working on that so I pulled out one of my summer favorites, the HP Metropolitan Deneuve Tuxedo Shirt. I’ve made two already and every time I wear one I wish I had a couple more. It’s hot as blazes right now and I can barely stand to have anything touch me so this cool but chic tunic fits the bill.

I bought this Irish linen at Maggi’s For Fine Fabrics about 15 or 16 years ago so I thought it was high time I did something with it. Since it has a woven stripe I decided to cut the bib on the bias for interest. I eliminated the placket and will use bias ties instead (like I did on my heirloom version).

fronts

I used Japanese straight tape to stabilize the front edge and the shoulders. At the front edge, I simply cut it in half with the rotary cutter so it would be hidden under my binding.

stayedfronts

Then it was just a matter of running the front edges through my 1 1/4″ binding attachment and then running the neckline through. If you don’t have a binding attachment, you would simply use your trusty Clover bias tape maker.

binding1

To make the ties, I started binding at the shoulder and then just ran the excess length through the binder.

binding2

The ties are very long so I will cut them down later. Stay tuned!

binding3

45 Comments

Filed under Hot Patterns

45 responses to “HP Deneuve Tuxedo Shirt – Take Three (Part I)

  1. Congratulations on the job! And your project is looking great.

  2. Cissie

    Great news about the job. Good to have you back, too. Looking forward to seeing the finished blouse.

  3. Yeah Gigi! Congratulations on the job! And it is nice to have you back. The shirt is looking fabulous so far.

  4. Rosie

    You were definitely missed! I’m alredy loving the shirt.

  5. Congratulations on the new job! I’ll be looking forward to seeing what you do with this shirt. that fabric is gorgeous!

  6. Congratulations Gigi! I know you must be happy, thrilled, relieved and TIRED! Working full time is hard…enjoy your new position!

  7. Colleen P.

    I was hoping that was why we hadn’t heard much from you lately! Congratulations! Can’t wait to see this one finished, it’s really beautiful fabric.

  8. Theresa in Tucson

    Congratulations on the job and glad you are back to posting. The shirt is going to be lovely.

  9. Congratulations on landing that job! So glad that you’re back to blogging – you’re such an inspiration.

  10. Katharine in Brussels

    Marvelous news on all fronts!

  11. Linda

    Congratulations!!! I’m also glad you’re back. I can fully understand the time constraints of a “job.” Best to you.

  12. Congrats on the job! And it’s good to have you back, though you probably will still be pretty sporadic until you really get into the swing of things. :-)

  13. That’s good news about the job! You must like it as you sound happy. Your shirt looks good so far.

  14. Gail D.

    I was one of those who missed you, and I am thrilled for you that you found a job! The market is so bad, and I worry about all the people who want so much to work and can’t find jobs! Congratulations.

    Gail D.

  15. Stunning linen – how could you sit on it for so long! I really like this pattern – perfect for my lifestyle so I may add yet another pattern to my growing stash. Can’t wait to see what you are doing with the ties.

  16. Great news on the job front, and glad you finally got some time in the sewing room. Your linen is gorgeous and can’t wait to see the final shirt.

  17. Great news on thejob! The binder does a great job. It shirt looks very promising :)

  18. Sue

    Oh yay! You’re back!
    I’m glad to hear you are fine and have just been busy working. Love this pattern you are making and I look forward to future posts.

  19. Kim

    Glad to see you back. But I have serious binder envy now.

  20. Janine

    Congrats on the job. Glad to know all is well. Big Hugs!

  21. Amy

    Gigi,
    Glad you are back. Vivian asked me about you just today. Now I can change my report.

  22. FWD

    That is some cool stitchin’ lady!

  23. Olivia

    Congrats on the new job! It does take alot of time out of your day. The shirt is looking great already! I may get that pattern. I kept checking your blog all month..:)

  24. magatha

    Glad you’re back and all is well. I checked every day to see if you were posting! I’m not a great sewer but I struggle along and like to see what you’re making.

  25. summersetbanks

    Congrats on the job! That’s great! Nice to see you back.

  26. So happy to have you back! You have been missed! And Congrats on your new job!

    Question: What is Japanese straight tape , and where can I purchase it?

    • Thank you! It’s a fusible, woven straight tape (it’s also available in off-grain). I bought mine from Louise Cutting but I believe Judy Barlup also sells it.

  27. Welcome back and congrats!

  28. Congratulations on your new job, which is so hard these days! I am glad that you have returned to the blogs, looking forward to see that shirt finished.

  29. You could not stay away and we thank you. Good to see you posting again and keeping the users moving and sewing. The Japanese straight tape, a great product.

  30. Becky

    Hi Gigi,
    I’ve been trying to find a picture of your green sewing machine in order to know what brand it is. I know that I’ve seen it, but can’t find it now. I would love to find one (or something similar), but the task is rather daunting.
    I’m so intrigued with your knowledge of old and commercial sewing machines and attachments. I’ve got several attachments that belonged to my grandmother, not sure what some of them are…:-)
    I would appreciate any ideas or sources. I enjoy reading your blog, it’s so much fun!!!
    Thanks,
    Becky S.

  31. Meredith P

    Congratulations on the new job! I just became unemployed, so it’s an evolving world. I hope I can find my sewing room at some point, and do some much needed work around here…while looking for a new job. I’m middle aged, but not nearly old enough to retire, as much as I’d like to. I have missed reading sewing blogs lately, and will enjoy catching up.

    I love the binding on your shirt. Reading sewing blogs DOES start the sewing mojo stirring…

  32. Nice to have you back. Congrats on the job!

  33. Jeannette Lassiter

    I would love to know what kind of machine you use and the binding folder you are using,

  34. Great looking project.

  35. Sharon

    Congrats on the job and love your blog. Is it possible to add an RSS feed.

  36. Margi

    Very nice. If you don’t mind my asking, where do you get the Japanese tape and is your binding attachment unique to your machine?

    Thanks!

    Margi

  37. barb

    Congratulations on the job I really enjoy your blog You inspire me since I have been unemployed recently I have cleaned up my sewing room

  38. Anne

    very interesting….good luck with the job!

  39. Carol

    Knock, Knock…. Gigi…..Gigi…… are you home?

    Seriously I hope you are loving the new Job, we miss you.

  40. Just want you to know I check here every day to see if you’ve found the time to return to blogging and sewing. You are so good at both!…..and we miss you!

  41. Carol

    Gigi, I am glad things are good for you! Post when you can as you have many Fans :) But really no pressure you have a life to live also,

  42. Lexley-Brisbane Australia

    Hi Gigi, where are you? Hope all is good in your neck of the woods….miss your posts & eagerly awaiting your next one!