Eight days of wonderful

Of course, the week leading up to the eight wonderful days was filled with stress and buckets of tears as I said my final goodbyes to my sweet little Winnie. I can’t believe how quiet the house is without her; that will take a lot of time to get used to.

winnie2

Thankfully, being in Susan Khalje’s Couture Boot Camp kept nearly every one of my brain cells busy for six glorious days. This was my little corner of the world for the week. Robin sat right in front of me. Another week and we would have been finishing each others’ sentences!

mylittlecorner

Left to right: Louise is a beginner of two years and lives not far from me in Vero Beach. She dove right into the deep end of the pool with a beautiful Marfy sheath dress. In front of her is Jeanne who made a beautiful Alencon lace jacket underlined in charmeuse and then moved on to a linen blouse with a fagotted neckline.

Then we have Diana who made a stunning two-piece dress consisting of a bias camisole with a cowl neckline and a long cascade-ruffled skirt for her daughter’s wedding.

louisejeannediana

Here we have FIT-trained Kimberly working on a gown of her own design. I’ll never drive by a Starbucks again without thinking of her! Some people run on Dunkin’ and others need a good Green Tea Soy Latte, ya know?

kimberly

Supermom Anna made a strapless silk charmeuse evening gown for her daughter’s prom (that’s her form – made by Anna, of course!). The gown is stunning as it is but will be hand-beaded later. I get tired just thinking about that!

anna

As if she needs any introduction, here is the adorable Gretchen of Gertie’s Blog for Better Sewing with Best Baster Barb behind her.

gertiebarb

The delightful twins, Debby and Dianna. I fell in love with this little Givenchy number from the 1980s. I’ll be making one for myself sometime this year.

twins

givenchy

Last, but certainly not least, our fearless leader Susan advising Robin on her beautiful guipure lace jacket. Notice Susan’s Million Dollar Suitcase in the background, full of treasures to make you gasp!

susanrobin

As if this wasn’t already more fun than a girl could handle, I came home and had the loveliest weekend in a fitting workshop with two of my students. Fit, fit, fit. Fit, fit, fit. Fit your pattern, fit your pattern. Sing it, KC!

I have to apologize for the terrible quality of my photos. “New camera” has been moved to the very top of my wish list! I simply can’t subject you, my dear readers, to these substandard photos any longer. I still have many more Boot Camp photos to post so stay tuned!

22 Comments

Filed under Couture Boot Camp, Miscellaneous

22 responses to “Eight days of wonderful

  1. Laura

    So sorry about your little Winnie. I’m thankful you had such a marvelous distraction from your loss. I hope you have a new challenging project to keep you distracted from the quiet house.

  2. Rosie

    Gigi, you know how I feel about your loss of Winnie. I am just happy that you had such a great distraction as the time you spent with all the lovely sewers/sewists. I’m looking forward to seeing more pictures. XOXO

  3. Sewer

    “Here we have FIT-trained Kimberly working on a gown of her own design. I’ll never drive by a Starbucks without thinking of her!”

    Whaaa? She was over-caffeinated from frequent Starbucks runs? She works at a Starbucks? That comment was elliptical to say the least.

    Sounds like a great class. I’d like to take it some day.

  4. jennifer

    Oh Gigi, that looks like it was absolutely fantastic!!
    What a terrific opportunity for you and a great way to focus on your creativity. hugs, Jennifer

  5. Oh boy, more memories of Couture Camp! Thanks for posting :)
    You know, I can’t stop thinking about that dress form Anna made. Wouldn’t it be fun to make dress forms like that? The plywood base made it sturdy and the stand she used from Home Depot was very sturdy. Those two issues were always the sticking point for me, when it comes to making a dress form.

    Is it obvious I am dreaming up more excuses to come to Florida? Who else do I know with the carpentry skills and fitting skills to tackle such a project.

    We could hold dress form workshops, right??!!

    I bet your weekend fitting students loved studying with you!

  6. I’m glad you had this week to help with your grief. It has been fun to see all the pictures from the week and I can’t wait to see what you made.

  7. Sally

    Please accept my condolences about Winnie. Grief over the loss of a pet is so real. But I know she got (and gave) lots of love while she was with you.
    And, thank you for sharing your experience with Susan. Looking forward to more photos–and to see your project. Nary a word about it, I notice. Shame, shame.

  8. Oh, Gigi, such sad news about Winnie. I’m hope you have many happy memories to make you smile through the tears. And thanks so much for introducing all the “campers.” Susan is such a lovely person and wonderful instructor….and then to be in a room of determined, creative women, what a blast.

  9. vernonfashionstudio

    Happiness and sadness in one post. You have lost a member of your family so please take time to mourn.

    And lucky you, getting the chance to work with Susan! Looks like you had a great time. Can’t wait to hear and see more about it.

    Linda T

  10. I am so sorry that you had to lose Winnie, but also have to say the class must have been a godsend of a distraction. IT looks like so much fun, and Susan is such a great teacher. I hope to go to boot camp some day.

  11. I’m so glad you had a wonderful time. I know several of your compatriots, and they are all so dear. I can’t wait to take another of Susan’s classes!

  12. Beverly

    So sorry to hear about your kitty. Good that your busy hands made for a happy heart. The camp looks like fun.

  13. No amount of time can erase the memory of a good cat, and no amount of masking tape can ever totally remove his fur from your couch.
    (Anon)

    My sympathies over your loss,
    coffeeaddict

  14. karent

    I love dogs, but there is nothing like a good cat. I’m so sorry about your losing Winnie. And I am so jealous about your going to Boot Camp. Someday I hope to go myself. I will haunt your website until I see what you made, your day to day stuff is terrific so your Boot Camp production must be stellar.

  15. Thanks for sharing your pictures! I wish, I hope, I wish, I hope to get an opportunity like that sometime in my life. I’d be so intimidated, though. And, I’m sorry for your loss of Winnie. We pet owners get attached to our pets in ways that non-pet owners can’t understand.

  16. Helen K

    Gigi, Sorry to hear about Winnie. That is tough.
    Helen

  17. I would like to follow this blog

  18. I just started reading your blog, and I’m in tears over your loss of Winnie. I adore my dogs so much it’s sickening but the cats I have had with personalities
    that were my *friends* and I miss them so. My heart goes out to you.

    On another note, I love your blog and your sewing. I plan to lurk here often!

  19. Ivy

    So sorry about your little Winnie. I myself just said goodbye to my dear beagle Lexi. It’s amazing how different life is without them.

    I’m new to the world of sewing and stumbled upon your blog. I hope I can learn from you.

  20. Im so sorry for your loss.I dont know what id do without my 3 furbabies.

    How wonderful to share the joy of sewing like that,amazing.