Faux Mink Jacket – Part V

I was finally able to get back to the jacket today, yay! I stitched the darts, shoulder and side seams and attached the collar. Because the fur is so plush I had to trim it out of the seam allowances (best done over a wastebasket!). To keep the seam allowances flat, I catchstitched them to the backing. I did the same with the darts after slashing them open.

front

seam

One of my favorite parts, the back of the collar.

collarback

All I have left now are the sleeves, hems and lining. Not too much but everything does take a little longer in fur. I hope we have a few more cold days so I can wear this at least once. Speaking of cold days, I am shocked at how much I am wearing my fur vest! It turns out to be the perfect thing to throw on when it’s just a little chilly. I think I need another one (just an excuse to sew with fur again).

5 Comments

Filed under Year of the Jacket

5 responses to “Faux Mink Jacket – Part V

  1. Seriously, I can’t get any more green with envy…please.don’t.make.another…I’m not so good at making up green skin…*sigh*

  2. My jaw drops whenenver I read about your faux mink! I don’t even like sewing knits and you’re sewing fur! I’m not worthy!!!!!! :)

  3. Wow, it’s looking really good!

  4. This is gorgeous and your sewing is awesome.