Faux Fur Vest – Final

I finished putting the lining in this morning so I’ll hopefully be able to give it a test drive before the weather warms up again. I’ll let you in on a little secret: I hate working with lining fabrics, blech. But I can’t say enough good things about the coat lining I used here. It’s stretch coat lining in black from Georgeous Fabrics and was an absolute joy to work with. I really didn’t want to cut into it because I bought just enough for a short coat but I couldn’t resist so I guess I’ll be ordering some more to have on hand.

collardetail

Peter had asked if the fur was messy to work with. Well, yes and no. Since I traced my pattern onto the knit backing and cut through the backing only there wasn’t much mess during cutting and sewing, just a few stray hairs. But, since this fur is pretty long, I needed to trim the excess pile out in some areas. I did trim over a wastebasket but some of the mess did get on the floor and my pressing surface, nothing major.

I really had a lot of fun working with fur and I’m happy with the way the vest turned out. But, I can tell you that I would never buy a fluffy, long-haired fur again because, frankly, it’s fattening! But, I enjoyed the process so much that I’m going to keep the pattern out and look for a nice short-haired fur for a jacket. In a short-haired fur, this pattern would go together start to finish in a matter of hours. I bought this particular fur at Fabric Depot in Portland about 15 years ago. It’s very silky-soft, I used the bulk of it to make a faux-fur throw for my in-laws a few years ago.

vest

14 Comments

Filed under Year of the Jacket

14 responses to “Faux Fur Vest – Final

  1. It looks really cute. I’ve yet to run across a faux fur that I love.

  2. Fran G

    You’ll look really sharp in this vest..I am going to be living in FL fulltime soon and can see having something like this. Great beginning!

  3. Another great piece…seriously do you ever sew anything badly! :)

  4. Beautiful! May-be you need to travel somewhere for some serious apres-ski activity – this vest just looks like it would belong at a ski resort.

  5. Rosie

    Loving it (as usual)! A certain someone says she is still waiting on her version of this.

  6. It’s awesome. You did a wonderful job.

  7. Summerset

    So lovely. Yeah, the fur does add some pounds, but at least they’re easy to take off!

  8. You never cease to amaze with your stunning garments.

  9. jennifer

    It looks great!!

  10. Drsue

    Fabulous as usual!

  11. Pingback: Faux Mink Jacket – Part I « Gigi Sews

  12. It looks awesome!
    Most people feel intimidated by the idea of sewing with faux fur, but it’s really not that hard and the results are well worth the extra trouble (mainly the cleaning and the vacuuming, lol)!
    Thanks for the shout out on your previous post!