HP Mighty Aphrodite Draped T-Shirt

Another clear winner from HP! I fell in love with this pattern the moment I saw it. I love the asymmetrical draping, sleeves and the drawstring and was so thrilled to finally get it traced off last weekend.

patternenvelope

I made the short-sleeved asymmetrical sleeve version in a gorgeous purple rayon/lycra from, where else? Gorgeous Fabrics. I made my usual HP size 6 but skipped the FBA since I figured the draping added enough ease through the bust (it did). The sewing was pretty uneventful and went quickly. I did have an oops! moment when I realized that I forgot to make a broad back adjustment but, thankfully, the top is wearable.

The only thing I will change next time (besides the back alteration) is to not interface the entire back neck facing. Even though I used a knit interfacing with plenty of stretch, it still interfered with the stretch of the fabric enough that I went back and removed it. Needless to say, I fuse for life so it took quite awhile to heat/peel/heat/peel but I got it done and am happier with the result.

You can see that, even though the neckline is modest, this top definitely has a vavavoom quality to it. The ruching and draping are very flattering so this pattern will definitely go into the “favorites” file.

Leftside

rightside

For my 2nd version, I used a super-soft heathered oatmeal rayon/lycra (again, from Gorgeous Fabrics). This time, I used two plain sleeves because the fabric had a much more casual feeling to it.

oatmealaphrodite

I fused only the neckline and shoulder seams of the back facing as shown here. This worked out much better for me.

backneckfacing

What’s next on the agenda? Well, I am still on the hunt for the right shade of red poly chiffon for my Milly blouse (I must get it done before the holidays!) so I’m working on my silver brocade baseball jacket since I’ve assembled all of the supplies for it.

31 Comments

Filed under Hot Patterns

31 responses to “HP Mighty Aphrodite Draped T-Shirt

  1. Gigi, I so enjoy your posts! I’ve never used a HotPattern before. Do you find that the sizing is consistent with most commercial patterns? When I purchase ready-made clothing, I wear a size 4 but when I sew from a commercial pattern, I find I need the size 10 or even 12 if the style is close fitting. It’s crazy…I think commercial garment manufacturers changed their sizing about 10 years ago to make us all feel slimmer. I’d been a size 6 all my life, then suddenly became a 4! They’re not foolin’ me ;)

    • Actually, I find the HP shoulders a little broader than Big-4 patterns. In most patterns, I start with an 8; in HP I start with a 6. HPs sleeves can be very slim in some styles so I always check them. I rarely buy RTW (except for jeans and tank tops) so I don’t have to deal with the kooky sizing. I’d always rather sew than shop – except for shoes!

  2. How did I miss this, what a gorgeous T-shirt!

  3. Your tops definitely have a “vavavoom” to them. They are gorgeous tops with “Gorgeous Fabric”! This top is a must for me now.

  4. chloeE

    OK now you’ve done it!! you’ve inspired me to put aside my obsession with heirloom sewing for awhile to try this pattern. Drat!! you (and debbie cook) are that inspirational.
    chloeE

  5. Those are great t-shirts! I’m adding this to my list also!

  6. wow those both look fantastic. That white one with jeans will definitely go from casual to amazing. Love them!

  7. Great pattern, I haven’t seen this one before. I love the shirts you made- they are great! I have only tried out one of their basic t-shirt patterns with a muslin- I did find the sizing to be larger than the ‘big 4′ as you put it.

  8. Wow. VAVAVOOM indeed! But the final garment has more ruching that I expected.

    Thanks for sharing the modified interfacing. This the first time I’ve seen this method. Your explanation was very helpful.

  9. WOW!!! What a fabulous top. I was afraid it might be too much fabric but your review changed my mind. Thanks Gigi!

  10. OOOOH I love it !!!!!

  11. cidell

    “I fuse for life”. I think I may have to get a t-shirt with that qoute! I LOVE these two tops! Pretty, pretty, pretty.

  12. I really love that!!! I am about to start working on a HotPattern myself–the Riviera pants.

  13. Rosie

    I love them both but especially the one made in purple. What kind of fusible did you use on the oatmeal colored one?

  14. I really like them! Especially the oatmeal one – it totally looks like something I’d wear (personally not a fan of the one sleeve on the purple one – but I love the color!).

  15. Fantastic tops, I really need this pattern now!

  16. CGCouture

    Wow! I’m going to have to spring for this pattern after I get a bit farther along with the ones I already have in my “to-do” pile. Your versions look gorgeous!

  17. Gigi – these are absolutely gorgeous!

  18. KathrynT

    Great tops, Gigi. You’re really tempting me to try some more Hot Patterns. I’ve had one good and one bad experience so far, but these tops do look very flattering and everyone seems to be making the Riviera jacket. Can I ask a question a post late about the jacket. What does it look like on? Is it boxy or does the knit fabric make it more flattering?

  19. Melissa

    I love this pattern! I made a long-sleeve/plan version in a leopard print fabric from Gorgeous Fabrics. Thanks for the tip on the back-neck interfacing.

  20. vernonfashionstudio

    I like both versions but I am such a fan of purple and the sleeves are to die for so my favorite is the first one.

    Linda T

  21. You know, if I had that oatmeal one, I bet I’d wear it every day! It looks so comfortable yet chic at the same time. It wouldn’t have occurred to me until I saw it made up but…I think I better go buy that pattern!

  22. I love it! So Grecian.

  23. Stephanie

    Hi Gigi- what beautiful tops! I saw your post and immediately ordered this pattern to try and make something similar. I’m sitting and looking at the shoulder pleats now, and am totally confused (I’m a beginner sewer). If possible, do you have any advice for how this works?

    I appreciate any thoughts!
    Thanks,
    Stephanie

  24. rebells

    I’ve been thinking of making this pattern for a while and so glad to it made up. You do excellent work. I read artisan’s square regularly. WIsh you would post more of your work there as well.

    The neckline on your tops surprised me. The pattern illustration seems to have a more modestly curved wide scoop neck but when made up is almost a v.

  25. Pingback: You Need a Man to Carry That for You! « Miss Celie's Pants

  26. WOW! Your top is very pretty! I’ve never purchased one of these patterns before. I may try now. Thanks

  27. Kimberlee

    This top is just plain sexy. HP knows how to make a lady feel like a woman, rawr!