Milly Blouse – Part V

I completed the front closure today, finally. If you remember, the original blouse has a hidden button placket. This detail is quite easy to add to any existing pattern. In my case, all I had to do was add two more button extensions and a seam allowance to turn under. I only interfaced the bottom extension to give some support to the buttonholes. You can see how I did that here on the pattern (I had to rotate the pattern because WordPress always cuts off a little on the right side):

hiddenplacket

Here is the placket open, showing the buttonholes. It’s easiest to make the buttonholes at this point, before the neckband has been attached. I’m using grey MOP shirt buttons but any flat, plain button will do. On the cuffs I am planning to use these big rhinestone buttons.

placketopen

buttons

Placket closed.

placketclosed

Here’s what it looks like from the inside.

placketinside

10 Comments

Filed under Aren't you glad you sew?, Butterick, Vintage Patterns

10 responses to “Milly Blouse – Part V

  1. Rosie

    I’m in heaven looking at this! I cannot wait to see the finished garment.

  2. That is beyond fabulous. The buttonholes are perfect, and the buttons? I die.

  3. You know I’m anxiously awaiting the finish of this blouse because it is going to be amazing!

  4. Your stitching is superb!! Thanks for the tip on how to add a hidden button placket!

  5. Susannah

    Exquisite!

  6. Lexley

    LIKE, ABSOLUTELY SUBLIME!!! CAN’T WAIT TO SEE THE FINISHED GARMENT. AND OH, THOSE SQUARE DEVINE CRYSTAL BUTTONS! THEY ARE JUST MAGNIFICENT !

  7. Vibeke

    It is so much fun and inspiration to see all the garments you’ve been making this year!

    Please share any tips you may have on working with the charmeuse – if you can tear yoursef away from it, that is.

    I can’t believe your buttonholes! You should change your blog name to The Buttonhole Queen :-D

  8. summersetbanks

    Beautiful – so neat and clean on the inside.

  9. Stephanie

    Totally perfect buttonholes and topstitching Gigi! Just perfect- I think we would all love to invite you into our homes to be our helpful Buttonhole Elf who can work her magic on any garment and fibre, when it is buttonholing time-and especially when it is on silk, lol. Me first!! Fancy a trip to Australia? :-)