Milly Blouse – Part I

A misnomer, really. I am actually still in the hunting and gathering phase of the Milly blouse. I knew I had some champagne silk charmeuse in the stash and I found it (with matching chiffon!) but, alas, not enough for the blouse. I found a ton of bronze silk charmeuse but it’s not my best color (someone gave it to me) so I had set it aside for nightwear (I wear a sleep mask so I don’t care what color my jammies are).

charmeuse

While I was hunting, I came across this beautiful leopard silk charmeuse still wrapped in tissue in the original bag from Cynthia’s. For shame! From the graphics on the shopping bag, Cynthia dated it at six years old, at least. Immediately, I thought “test garment” and that’s what I’m doing with it.

leopard

I’ve already come pretty far, the back fronts and sleeves have been joined in French seams and the armscyes have been sewn. I was going to serge them and then I thought, why not bind them with the champagne silk chiffon? I used a 1″ binder but cut my strips 1.5″ wide because silk chiffon narrows so much on the bias.

binding

I think this gives the inside of the blouse a really nice look.

inside

I did finally settle on a charmeuse for the Milly blouse, this silver grey which was purchased at Judy’s Fabrics a very, very long time ago.

crystals
The crystals were a bit more challenging. I did find the ones I really wanted at MJ Trimmings but, sigh , $$. I found these crystal beads locally. They cost me about $30 (about half of the ones at MJ) and they are big (12mm) and flat. I think they will work just fine. Cynthia has the perfect grey chiffon for the front ruffle which I’ll pick up on Monday night when I have my beginner’s class.

11 Comments

Filed under Aren't you glad you sew?, Butterick, Embellishments, Fabric, Vintage Patterns

11 responses to “Milly Blouse – Part I

  1. Helen K

    Your stash knows no bounds! I think you have a veritable treasure chest there. Looks good to me. I wouldn’t pick out silk charmeuse wrapped in tissue paper and think “test garment”, but then my skills are not what yours are. You are an inspiration, Gigi.
    Helen

  2. Meredith P

    Love all of these things!

  3. Rosemary

    Wow, Your talent is an inspiration with every garment you complete. I can’t wait to check each day just want you have completed. I wish I could produce just half of what you sew in such a short time. Wonderful. Keep keeping us all inspired.
    Its very hot, wet and humid in North Queensland Australia at present. Nearly time to start swimming.
    cheers,
    Rosemary

  4. I just discovered your blog and I’m in awe. So, these binder gizmos… you seem to use yours a lot. I didn’t even know they existed, now I want one! Keep up the good work!

  5. jennifer

    Wow, Gigi I can not keep up with your speedy progress.
    This is going to be stunning on you. Will you wear it with slacks or a skirt?

    • Probably both. I’m going to try to finish this tonight and make a black pencil skirt tomorrow so I can wear the outfit to dinner with my honey.

  6. Both the blouses will be stunning. Especially interested in your progress on the crystal front blouse.

  7. chloeE

    Wow, what an inspiration you are. thank you so much. the crystal beads will be beautiful. What a classic beautiful blouse (both of them), one for the ages. BTW, am curious what sewing machine you are using?

  8. Brenda

    What is the make of the sewing machine that you are using pictured on your blog?