The Anorak – Part II

It’s Day 1 of my mini Sewing Vacation, woohoo! Bryan is in Dallas and I am doing exactly what I said I’d be doing: spending the day in my jammies, sewing! I should get this anorak completed before I go to bed tonight. I swear, finishing all of the seams takes longer than the entire jacket itself! But, it’s well worth it.

binding

I didn’t want any raw edges around the armscye so I decided to use double-fold binding instead of the HK finish. I trimmed off a scant 1/4″ from the seam allowances and ran it through.

binding1

It looks really nice and neat and was so easy. I love the way the shiny dupionni binding looks with the sueded silk/linen!

binding2

I also used the binder to make my own cording. Because this fabric is so “grabby” it would have been a nightmare to turn a bias tube and I didn’t have any charcoal drawcord in my stash. This techniqued worked really well so I’ll definitely use it again.

cording

Here’s where I am so far. I still have to hem the jacket and finish the sleeves. The jacket looks really long but, I assure you, this is the shorter length! And the sleeves… Well, to be fair, they probably are perfect when using a blouseweight but they were way too wide for this fabric. I removed 4″ of width and they are still quite full. I’m unsure whether I will cuff or elasticate them so I’ll leave that until last.

front

11 Comments

Filed under Attachments, McCall's, Year of the Jacket

11 responses to “The Anorak – Part II

  1. Meredith P

    Beautiful, as always! It might be fun to wear it inside out sometimes, that binding is really beautiful. I’ll bet you have the perfect something in your stash to knot on to your drawstrings. :-)

  2. Yummy! I have a generic binder that I bought to use with my serger. I found it so difficult and I am not sure why. Maybe I need to find it and try again. Your results are gorgeous. The fabric combination is wonderful.

  3. RobbieK

    AWESOME!!!! I would love to just sit and watch you work your magic somtime….

  4. jennifer

    Awesome!! I am so eager to see how this turns out.

  5. CBH

    I want the binder so badly!!! Where can I get? Do you know if it fits most domestic machines? Please, please, let me know. Thanks so much for sharing.

  6. Wow, this is looking good. Love that binder attachment.

  7. Why do I come here? I always leave wanting some of your fabric or your pattern or notion stash. Now I want the sewing machine with the binding tool! Seriously, I have NEVAH applied binding so effortlessly! This is looking soooooo good, btw! :)

  8. Lynne

    Where did you get the binding foot? I have a Juki industrial machine and would like to get one. That binding looks fabulous.

    • I got it at my friend’s shop. It’s a standard right-angle binder set with compensating foot. The part number is S60 and it comes in about 10 different widths. Any shop that carries industrial feet should have it and you can buy it on Ebay as well.