Burda Style 02/2009 #119 – Part I

Yeah, I know I’m supposed to be working on the Big Bow Skirt. I’m on the fence about my fabric choice, sigh. Instead, I decided to tidy up a bit (so that I’d quit obsessing over the skirt!) and I found this top/dress that I had traced off last summer. I have found the perfect fabric for the dress at Gorgeous Fabrics (no, I’m not going to show you lest you buy it all!) so I thought I’d do a quick test of the top to check the fit.

dress

top

I am such a sucker for prints like this (as if you didn’t know)! I believe this came from Gorgeous Fabrics. I cut one section at a time, laying everything out on the floor as I went along. I cut the upper bodice a several times before deciding on this particular layout (I use my camera as 2nd set of eyes). The neckline will be bound with the green.

0209119front

13 Comments

Filed under Burda WOF, Fabric

13 responses to “Burda Style 02/2009 #119 – Part I

  1. This is going to be gorgeous!! I *love* how you have laid out the print!!

  2. Wow! This is going to look great. Gorgeous fabric!

  3. Oh, that is going to look amazing!!!!

  4. I love that fabric! I know that Gorgeous Fabrics doesn’t have that one now. They do have a bunch of new knits that I’m trying to resist buying *sigh*.

  5. JoyJoy

    Aha.. There’s a method to the madness. This is going to be stunning. I love how you have thought through the design of the print. Beauty!

  6. Sally

    Looks as if it’s going to be smashing. I love your attention to detail.

  7. Fun print. Nice design too!

  8. I always admire the way you work with jersey prints.

  9. Stephanie

    Wow! Wow! Wow! You really know how to cut and lay out a print, this will be an impressive top when you sew it together.

  10. This is a fantastic print and you made best use of it. It’s going to be gorgeous!

  11. Rosie

    Why do I even bother? Drooling again! I love how you cut and laid it out.

  12. Laury Shepherd

    I can’t wait to see it in progress!

  13. Fab! Although it might also look good to bind the neckline with the same pink color way as the end of the sleeve. 6 of one, half dozen of the other! ^_^