Burda Style 08/2010 #120 – Part I

The worst is over, I have finished all of the pintucks! Yay! I do love pintucks, just not making them. As you can see, I thread traced each fold line. Not the fastest method but it was the best and most accurate way this time.

pintucks

This is an Italian silk crepe de chine that I bought at Maggi’s For Fine Fabrics in Boca Raton years ago. I had a coordinating linen jacquard that was made into a jacket back when big shoulder pads were still in. It went to Goodwill a long time ago! As much as I love to buy new fabric, it is actually fun to finally find just the right pattern for some of these old pieces.

Now to begin the boring and time-consuming task of pulling all of the threads to the back side (twenty-eight times!).

ETA: Thank you lin3arossa for reminding me about single-thread pintucks! The much-revered Kenneth King has an excellent tutorial up on the Threads website here. I haven’t sewn single-thread pintucks in many years and had completely forgotten about the technique. Doh!

12 Comments

Filed under Burda WOF, Fabric

12 responses to “Burda Style 08/2010 #120 – Part I

  1. What GORGEOUS fabric! I can’t wait to see your finished skirt, it is going to be a real stunner.

  2. Stunning fabric. Can’t wait to see this project progress.

  3. You can myke pintucks with the spool thread. It’s not less-tie-consuming but it looks good and you don’t have to knot. Tutorial here: http://www.threadsmagazine.com/item/7969/sewing-with-the-bobbin-thread
    and here’s a garment I used that method on:
    http://lin3arossa.wordpress.com/2010/04/14/petunia-summer-dress/

  4. Meredith P

    Ooooh! Pretty! Hate burying threads too!

  5. That is going to be absolutely gorgeous when it’s done! I do boring and time-consuming tasks like that while watching football games or Emmy broadcasts. :)

  6. Kathryn

    Gigi, I’m such a huge fan of your sewing. I’m enjoying seeing your pintucked peasant blouse come to life, and have loved your recent tops as well. You’re really on a roll!

  7. Rosie

    Gigi – I cannot imagine what you would do if your sewing time wasn’t limited. I anxiously await the finished garment.

  8. Am absolutely in love with this fabric!

  9. Stephanie

    Gigi, This is a fantastic blouse and will be so worth the effort. The finishing you did in the next post with your binder has me lusting after your machine collection, lol! Just lovely bound finishes.

  10. linda townsend

    I can not tell you how much I admire you. You do so many things very very well. This jacket is superb as are all of your completed projects. You are an inspiration. And what do you think about Mad Men and how close Don and Peggy are becoming?. What a show! Linda

    • Thank you, Linda! I am so hooked on MM! I am watching the last episode of Season 1 tonight, trying to catch up on all of the back story. I think Don and Peggy would be really good together. Love, love, love it!