Loose Ends – Part I

The day started out most irritatingly: I had my project planned, the fabric was pressed and laid out and then I took my TNT pattern out of it’s envelope and the upper bodice was missing. I know! I can’t believe it either. I have torn apart both sewing rooms and have not found it. I even checked the envelopes of patterns I made around the same time last summer (that’s where blogging really comes in handy!) with no luck, sigh. But, I did find a big zip bag with some batch-cut tees that I had forgotten about so I decided to work on those instead so that the day wouldn’t be a total loss. All fabrics are from Gorgeous Fabrics.

First up, a Kwik-Sew 3378 in a tissue-weight rayon/lycra (I wish I’d made this a smidgen longer). This fabric is very sheer so you’re seeing spots of light through it. :

3378green

A couple of Jalie Sweetheart Tops (these still need hemming) in purple rayon/lycra and

sweetheartpurple

charcoal rayon/lycra.

sweetheartcharcoal

There are three more in the bag and I think they are all Sweethearts so they’ll go together quickly. If I don’t locate my pattern piece by the weekend I guess I’ll have to alter a new one. But I won’t be happy about it.

21 Comments

Filed under Fabric, Jalie, Kwik-Sew

21 responses to “Loose Ends – Part I

  1. Wow! You’re so fast! Sorry about the missing pattern piece but what did make are all really cute.

  2. They all look fabulous!!! I love that green rayon, but it is really sheer. I have some to make a top with and I’ll probably make an ivory cami to go with it.

    • Ann, I was thinking the same thing. I will also make the cami a little longer so it can stick out the bottom a little. The fabric’s divine though, wish I’d bought more!

  3. Love the sweetheart neckline and the colours of the last two t-shirts.

  4. Pingback: Loose Ends Sweetheart

  5. Gigi ~ you are the Queen of Tops! :) You have made some awesome ones! I especially love the sleeves on the purple one…and to think there are three more in the bag!!!

  6. For a bummer beginning, you certainly had a productive day. All of your tops are gorgeous!

  7. I had the same thing happen with an entire pattern the other day. And I’m usually so careful, too…

    The tops are very cute. You’re really supplementing your wardrobe lately!

  8. Rosie

    Do you ever have a wadder? You know I love everything you make.

  9. Auntie Allyn

    The TNT pattern piece is hiding with your missing socks!

  10. Helen K

    Lovely tops as usual, Gigi. I gather you sew down the binding on the Jalie tops?? Mine flips up. Yours looks so much more professional.
    I have sympathy about the pattern pieces. I went into my sewing room this morning and my 1 year old dog had fun with my pattern pieces. Not useable.
    Hope you find your missing one.
    Helen

    • Yes, I stitch down the binding otherwise it flips up – so annoying! Sorry about your pattern but I still have hopes of mine turning up…

  11. Meredith P

    Where do missing pattern pieces go? In my case, they never leave the confines of the sewing room! Sneaky little things, that’s all I can say. I love your “volume” production line. If I’d just get a few tops altered and ready to go, *I* could do this. But then again, I’m sort of waiting until I stabilize at a size, at that will be a few more months and pounds…

  12. I’m always amazed by home seamstresses who can make a knit top look RTW. Gosh you did a great job on those.

  13. I bought a vintage pattern recently and it had a critical piece missing – so annoying! Good luck with finding your piece – I hope you don’t have to check every pattern envelope you have!
    Great tops – you can never have too many of those!

  14. Wow! So pretty. So fast. I’m totally jealous.

  15. marilyn

    Great looking tops!
    What is the pattern number?
    How did you do you full bust alteration?
    How did you acheive such great fit?

    • It’s called the Sweetheart Top by Jalie. To do the FBA, I just added a dart and rotated it to the yoke seam. I’ve been fitting myself for a very long time!