McCall’s 6164 – another quickie!

I wanted to try out the gathered sleeve of View A before putting the pattern away. I was kind of hating it as I was sewing but after trying it on I changed my mind. Not that I want a bunch of these hanging in my closet but it does look pretty on. This sleeve takes a few more minutes than the draped one from View B but it’s still quick to make – about 2 hours start to finish (and that’s with me pausing a lot to watch McLeod’s Daughters!).

6164front

This fabric is a nice, weighty rayon/lycra from Gorgeous Fabrics that was such a pleasure to sew. The neckline was bound the same as before but you’ll notice that I widened it a bit. I used an old favorite – Kwik Sew 2694 – as a template. Actually, that’s a really nice thing to do for yourself. Use manila paper and trace off favorite necklines, pockets, collars, etc. You can then keep these handy (I have them all on a pattern hook) and won’t have to search through your paper patterns for the originals.

6164neckline

I like the fact that the sleeve has a band at the bottom but it would also be nice to leave that off, omit the elastic and use drawstrings to gather up the sleeve.

6164sleeve

I’m not quite sure what’s next on my sewing agenda. I should probably get started on my next jacket but there are still so many things I want to make for summer, sigh.

16 Comments

Filed under McCall's

16 responses to “McCall’s 6164 – another quickie!

  1. You have another great top! I’m in love with that purple fabric. A jacket would be nice to see but that can wait for cooler weather, right?

  2. Lovely top and such a great colour!

  3. I like your idea of using a drawstring on the sleeve.

  4. Lovely colour – very interesting treatment on the sleeves.

  5. Love the color. I liked the sleeves on the last one better.

  6. Auntie Allyn

    Fabulous! I think this style suits you . . . I don’t think I could carry it off.

  7. Your pictures never disappoint. (Having binder envy again!! Those tidy little stitches please me to no end, lol)
    I would try that pattern and I agree drawstrings on the sleeve would be a nice detail.

  8. Rosie

    Gigi – another beautiful production. I’m with Robin … having binder envy. Hello to the Lion Queen.

  9. Pingback: Diy Funny Life

  10. Another fabulous top. Really Gigi your garment photos always make me drool. And I agree with the binder envy thing.

  11. Lorrane

    Can I buy a binder like that to go on my 1970 Bernina 830 machine. (They’ve used that number again for their new embroidery plus machine.) I would love to buy a binder if I could find one I thought would work. It would just make life easier.

  12. This is a beautiful top. And thanks for the excellent tip.