HP Kaleidoscope Top – Part I

I am making the ruffled front version – it’s so me!

kaleidoscope

The top has been fitted, altered and cut – all my least favorite parts are over with. The fabric I am using is a silk crepe de chine that I bought when Cloth World closed it’s doors years ago. I bought three yards of every color they had and this is the last of it.

bluesilk

I’m off to have a quick bite of dinner and then head to the sewing room to hem these ruffles and continue watching Season 3 of McLeod’s Daughters. Hopefully, there will be some progress to report tomorrow!

17 Comments

Filed under Hot Patterns

17 responses to “HP Kaleidoscope Top – Part I

  1. What a pretty color and the top is a very nice style.

  2. You are really moving fabric out of the fabric closet and into your wardrobe! I can’t wait to see your version of this top. I bought this pattern too but for the more sedate assymetrical button top.

  3. I can’t believe that people outside of Australia are watching McLeod’s daughters. I’m telling we Aussies are all that blonde and gorgeous!! (or not). Is this a new Hot pattern. I’m seeing a few bloggers working on it.

  4. I’m not really a ruffle person, but that style is growing on me! I think I could do with one of those in my wardrobe, so can’t wait to see your results!

  5. Lexley

    OMG, can’t believe that you have McLeod’s Daughters over there….I just loved this show … I check your blog daily and absorb all your notes…thanks for recommending to purchase a Kwik Sew pattern for a shirt with a collar stand (you noted this some 3 years back when I read over all your blogs)…have learnt so much and now ‘do my own thing’ when pattern instructions use a different method…

    • We don’t but my friend Faye is hooked on Australian television and loaned me all 8 seasons – I’m hooked!

      Kwik-Sew makes a great shirt pattern, don’t they? Glad that worked out for you.

  6. Rebecca

    I would love to hear about the fitting changes you made on this one. And as always, I am eager to see your finished product. The quality of your work is what I aspire to. Season 3 of McLeods Daughters was the last one I watched (got a liitle wonky after that), but I loved it. And if you’ve not watched MI-5 (British spy series) and like spy shows, I can’t recommend highly enough – great series TV.

    • My friend’s loaned me all 8 seasons and I am enjoying it a lot! I will have to check into MI-5 as it sounds like something I’d like.

  7. Auntie Allyn

    Can’t wait to see your version! I bet it bears NO resemblance to mine!!

  8. Auntie Allyn

    And when I say that I bet it bears no resemblance to my version, I’m saying that in a good way!!

  9. Wow cutting, and altering are my fav. parts. I never want to finish the sewing part.

  10. You know I’m seeing a lot of this pattern – can’t wait to see pics of it made up (on you?) and your report after you finish!

  11. Rosie

    Ooh ooh a new project – cannot wait to see it. I love the color of the material.

  12. Summerset

    Beautiful color! I remember Cloth World! We lived in Tampa when I was a kid, and one strip mall had both a Cloth World and a Fabric King. My mom would shop at both, but usually bought at FK, since it was cheaper. CW had the coolest (at least to my grade school mind) bridal section – with a mannequin dressed in the latest bridal fashion on a raised area in the middle of it.

  13. CGCouture

    That is an adorable pattern, I will have to see if I can get my hands on it (because, you know, I REALLY NEED another pattern…:roll: LOL!) I can’t wait to see how your version comes together. :-)

  14. Meredith P

    Your Cloth World must have been nicer than the one we had in Fort Myers (it was merged in with Jo-Anns). I never saw any silk there!

  15. The Cloth World here in Nashville had beautiful fabrics. One of my girlfriends worked there and she was broken hearted when they closed.