Simplicity 2369

Another winner from Simplicity! I’m a sucker for a surplice top or dress so I couldn’t resist this pattern when it came out. It’s well drafted and very quick and easy to put together. Love, love, love the shaped raglan sleeves. I made a straight 8 and just shortened the skirt by 3/4″ to hit me right at the knee.

2369

This fabric is a super-soft rayon/lycra from Bestonline Fabrics (link in the sidebar). It’s been in my “collection” since last summer.

s22369

Bryan says this dress is, um, flattering. Heck, you can see that it makes Ethel’s boobs look enormous! I suspect the print may have something to do with that.

2369detail

16 Comments

Filed under Simplicity

16 responses to “Simplicity 2369

  1. That looks fabulous! I have a rayon/lycra that I’ve been looking to make up into a dress, and I think you have pointed me to the pattern.

  2. Okay, I have seen a few great versions of this dress and this is no exception. I must go and get this pattern. Love the print!

  3. Lindsay T

    Heck, with these two dresses you almost make me want to sew knits again. I love these both, plus the SB necklaces.

  4. Rosie

    Another lovely creation. Another pattern on my wish list. LOL Ethel doesn’t mind a little attention.

  5. Is this print the same one as the pattern envelope but in red? It sure looks like it!

  6. Ooh, gorgeous print and dress!!!

  7. Lisa

    Nice dress. Love the color/print!

  8. Wow, that turned out really nice. Love that print.

  9. vernonfashionstudio

    Wow! Love the print and love the dress! Very flattering!

    Linda T

  10. That’s a super fantastic dress! Enjoy wearing it. Maybe take her out on a date-night!

  11. Also love this dress. Just put it on my wishlist!

  12. Great finishes coming out of your sewing room! I wish I could say the same, but at least I got in there.

  13. Can I join the cheer squad. I always admire your choices of fabric and patterns and workmanship.

  14. Liz Gardner

    I have also made this dress three times — twice in ITY and once in a rayon knit — that one turned out amazing! Great pattern!

  15. Janie

    I think I like the smaller print for this pattern. I don’t like the 1st dress as much as the second dress and I like the third dress best of all (Just call me goldilocks) The first one looks chubbie on the dress form and I know you ain’t chubby!