I’m back!

Back in town and back in the sewing room – yay! My honey and I spent the 4th of July holiday in Keystone Heights (near Gainesville). Bryan spent his childhood summers there at his family’s lake house. It’s a sleepy little place, far away from the hustle and bustle of south Florida – perfect for a weekend getaway but I don’t think I could live there!

Since we came home, we’ve been really busy finishing up my backyard. The sod has been laid where the old stone patio used to be. It’s greening up nicely and should be ready for a mow this week.

pond

The mulching is also about 50% done.

mulch1

mulch2

Bryan’s mother gave me some pups from her giant Staghorn fern. They are very slow growing so it’ll probably take a couple of years for it to grow over the basket.

staghorn

This is the part of the backyard that I now call the Bad Yard. Every bulk pick-up day I rip out some more stuff! I don’t know what I am going to do here but, whatever it is, it’ll have to wait until winter. I can’t see it from the pool so I’m going to pretend it doesn’t exist.

badyard

Yesterday, I started another HP Deneuve Tuxedo shirt, this time in white linen. I thought it would be fun to use up some of the Swiss embroideries that I’ve had in my stash for ages. I’ll use the beading on the bib, not sure if and where I’ll use the edging.

embroideries

9 Comments

Filed under Hot Patterns, House

9 responses to “I’m back!

  1. Your backyard is beautiful and reflective of all of your hard work! Glad you had a wonderful break!

  2. You yard puts mine to shame. How come I never knew you were in SoFLo? Or did I miss that somewhere? Come see me when you’re in Hollywood! Welcome home!

  3. Meredith P

    Looks wonderful! Even the bad yard doesn’t look all that bad to me. :-)

  4. Auntie Allyn

    OMG, your gardening is gorgeous!!! With all the scorching heat we’ve had here in northern Virginia, there are no green lawns to be seen anywhere!

  5. Absolutely gorgeous! I miss the lush greenery in Florida.

  6. sewforward

    I have a stag horn that my grandfather started. The fern is probably 100 years old and is HUGE. I have it hanging from a tree. I’ve had to have it rehung more then once, too.

  7. Sue

    So glad you are back!
    I love your blog. You have taught me so much about sewing and your yard is beautiful!

  8. sharon

    i used to live in So Fla and new a lady who had a greenhouse. she had THE MOST beautiful staghorn ferns….her secret? she would stuff a rotten banana in the ‘cup’ of the fern at it’s base every so often.

  9. Your yard looks fantastic! I’m sure my yard is a mess at this point.