HP Deneuve Heirloom Shirt – Part I

I finished cutting out the shirt tonight (except for the sleeves because I’m not sure what I want to do with them yet).

My first order of business is creating the bib using strips of linen and Swiss embroideries. This will definitely be the fun part! Here is my inspiration:

marieclairedress

Apparently, this is a dress. A very short dress possibly designed by Kelly “I’m not wearing pants” Bensimon. Nevertheless, it’s very, very pretty, isn’t it? The moment I saw this I immediately thought of the Deneuve Tuxedo Shirt and those yards and yards of embroideries in my stash!

I don’t know about you, but I really dislike pulling threads. I never get one to go all the way across! But, I was a Good Sewer and pulled threads to square up the fabric and then every 1.5″ across the piece.

pullthread1

Now I am armed and ready with my perfectly on-grain fabric strips. Tomorrow morning I will dust off my old Bernette overlock and set it up for a 2-thread rolled hem so that I’ll be ready to start assembly tomorrow night.

strips

I’m off to bed now. I broke my Little Piggy Who Had Roastbeef yesterday and then tonight I accidentally kicked a 5 lb. dumbell with the same foot (OUCH). I am definitely ready for elevation and ice! It’s a good thing I use my left foot for sewing. And equally good, I suppose, that I’m not this clumsy with my sewing machine.

8 Comments

Filed under Hot Patterns

8 responses to “HP Deneuve Heirloom Shirt – Part I

  1. I would love a dress like this in black or red lace. But much much longer!

  2. Meredith P

    This is going to be beautiful and I look forward to seeing it’s progress.

    Ouch-please sit down for a while and definitely elevate and ice! I say again-Ouch!

  3. cidell

    Well, I have no idea what or how you are doing this, but I can’t wait to see!

  4. Auntie Allyn

    Wow, I’m in awe of this shirt already!

  5. Oh your inspiration piece is beautiful and am looking forward to seeing your progress on this.

    I need to learn to sew left-footed since I banged up my right big toe pretty badly earlier this summer. I’m back to sewing in short bursts however. The combination of no heels and no sewing is deadly.

  6. Rosie

    Yikes about the broken toe! I am on the floor about “Kelly”. I can picture the dress but cannot wait to see your finished garment. Inspirational as always!!

  7. Colleen P.

    Oh poor Gigi! Definitely elevate the foot and baby yourself a bit!

    Shirt looks gorgeous!

  8. Janis

    Oh, that is so beautiful! I look forward to the finished dress.

    I’m so sorry about the toe…been there, done that!