McCall’s 5860 – Part I

Today I am working on this Palmer/Pletsch jean jacket. Yes, I have a long list of things to sew but this is a store sample for my friend’s shop and I want to bring it with me on Monday evening (my last Beginning Sewing class). I’m using a TDF laminated cotton/linen from Elliot Berman Textiles which is in the washer as we speak.

5860

Look at this unexpected surprise I received yesterday! I am so excited about this because I’ve been wanting one for a year and a half. I know what you’re thinking: meh, it’s a commercial straight stitch foot, big deal.

foot1

Actually, it is a big deal – it’s a paperweight! My friend received one just like it from one of the sewing machine suppliers in 2008 and I’ve been threatening to lift it since. Now I have my own!

foot2

18 Comments

Filed under McCall's, misc., Year of the Jacket

18 responses to “McCall’s 5860 – Part I

  1. OMG, you got me on that one! So cool, so very you!

  2. That is too awesome! That would be just the thing to hold down all my pattern pieces to keep them fro blowing all over the sewing room when the windows are open. Too cool!

  3. Colleen P.

    LOL-I adore your paper weight! Plus, you can defend yourself against bears, should any ever break into your sewing room…admittedly unlikely, but still!

  4. Susannah

    That is the most desirable paperweight ever created! Am insanely jealous…

  5. Meredith P

    Love. It.

  6. The paperweight is very kewl!

  7. Gigi its not a paperweight, it’s art! Very Claes Oldenberg:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Typewriter_Eraser,_Scale_X.jpg

    I think you should have it on your coffee table, it’s way too special to hide in your sewing room.

  8. Colleen P.

    OK is it just me or is the models face stuck in that expression? Her face and stance don’t change from picture to picture!

  9. subversivesewer

    jealous!! I wonder if you could make a cast of it to make more…..

  10. What a cool paperweight! Where did you get it?!

  11. Wow….I mean really W-O-W !

  12. How cool is that!!!!!!!!I love it!

  13. How cool is that! Now I want one!