Quick Summer Sewing

This is going to be the hottest summer we have had in a long time and I need some new summer clothes. Today I am tracing off the HP Weekender Summer In The City tunic.

summerinthecity

And I have cut out and made the front tucks in a pretty voile blouse from Simplicity 3786.

birdblouse

I made this a couple of times last summer and it is a wardrobe favorite. To refresh your memories, that is the pattern I used for my dotted Swiss blouse:

dottedswiss

Each time I wear it I ask myself why I don’t have more!

21 Comments

Filed under Hot Patterns, Simplicity

21 responses to “Quick Summer Sewing

  1. I love the fabric choice for the Simplicity top.

  2. Fabulous!! I love, i love, i love

  3. I am interested to see how the new HP tunic turns out. I am attracted to this pattern myself.

  4. That fabric is too gorgeous. Could it be found by mail order in Australia?

  5. Gorgeous – I love that voile! I haven’t made anything from voile yet, but I’m thinking of stocking up on some for some summer blouses… Thanks for the inspiration :)))

  6. Love that white top, and I’m sure the pretty blue print will be equally lovely. This pattern just went on my list.

  7. Mary Ann

    I like the dotted swiss blouse. Can you tell me which simplicity pattern this is?

  8. MaryEllen

    I bought the Tuxedo shirt pattern after seeing your blog a week ago. Then I lost your blog(old and age and forgaot to post it as a favorite). Found you again and hope you will be a help when I make it. I haven’t sewn for myself in 10 years and your blog and other blogs have inspired me to sew again.

  9. I too love that Simplicity pattern! It is the most comfortable top that I have sewn yet!

  10. susan

    Every time you wear them I ask myself why I don’t have any :)

  11. m

    Every time you make one, I ask myself why don’t I too?

    I app-solutely ♥
    my ✄ Fabric U ✄
    iPhone app!

    http://tinyurl.com/242bua9

  12. Great tops! Can’t wait to see them finished!

  13. Laury Shepherd

    Hi, I wanted to start following your blog…I guess they needed a comment to do so, so this is it!

  14. Vmar

    The blue and white fabric is stunning. I can just see it with a white pencil skirt or even whit jeans. It seems pretty sheer, would you have to wear a camisole under it?

  15. karima

    Your blouses are really beautiful. I’d love to have those in my wardrobe, they would get a lot of wear. I’m so impressed with your precision.

  16. Pingback: Seersucker for a Heatwave – McCall’s 6116 | CoudreMODE

  17. Rebecca

    HP1108 I made this pattern just recently. It turned out very nicely. The only problem I had was the pattern called for a 4″ piece of elastic to put in a bias casing. The trouble is, the pattern instructions didn’t say how long the casing should be. Should it be 4 inches also? I just left the casing and elastic off.

    • There wasn’t an elastic casing in the HP pattern so I’m assuming you mean the Bird Blouse pattern. The length of the casing is marked on the back pattern piece.

      • Rebecca

        Thank you so much. Yes it was the Bird Blouse pattern. I love the blouse, and it fits pretty well. The neckline keeps falling away from my neck, so for its next incarnation I will raise the collar a bit.