No sewing – just house

I wasn’t able to do any sewing at all this weekend. :-( But, I did find a fabulous piece of embroidered white linen in my stash for another jacket. It’s been prewashed and is just waiting to be pressed.

I was busy all weekend replacing door casings in my bathroom so that I could get them painted before Jim started grouting. Not the most fun I ever had but I did get to use my nail gun and who doesn’t feel like *all that* when wielding a nail gun?

I picked up the crown moulding today as well as paint for the ceiling. I want to paint the ceiling before he starts laying the floor tiles because I’ll have to get my BIG ladder out to paint inside the skylight and don’t want to worry about scraping tiles. I decided to do the painting myself because I am super picky about that. Which is why I spent my entire Sunday sanding and painting door casings…

I didn’t spend the entire weekend working. Bryan and I went to a Panthers game with our friends Jodi and Jimmy. Jimmy and I graduated from high school together and now their daughter plays softball for Bryan. I hadn’t been to a game in ages – we had a great time! I had to laugh because I look so pale next to them – they spent all day Friday and Saturday at a softball tournament.

game

The tile is going pretty quickly now. Jim is nearly up the ceiling in the shower, yay!

shower

I got a big surprise today. Jim actually *made* these big, fat bullnose pieces – they are really incredible. Since the tile was going to come out as far as the door casing he thought we needed a nice trim piece. Love it!

bullnose

Here’s my shower drain. I had so much fun helping with this today – I made all of those little filler pieces! I cut up some 4×4 tiles and then hand filed the edges. I know it doesn’t seem like a big deal but I get so excited when I learn a new technique.

drain1

drain2

I probably won’t be able to get into my sewing room today since I have a ceiling to sand but I should be able to get back to my jacket by Wednesday evening.

Happy sewing to the rest of you!

12 Comments

Filed under misc.

12 responses to “No sewing – just house

  1. Sally

    I’ll say it again–your talents know no bounds! Sally

  2. You look fabulous and I LOVE the dress!

  3. I’m still amazed at how calm and together you are in the face of this major upheaval. Congratulations! And I love your shower drain. (Never thought I’d type that.)

  4. Wow, even the drain is fabulous! And you are SO photogenic- I’m just a little bit envious :)

  5. CGCouture

    *Sigh* I’m so envious of what looks like it’s going to be a very luxurious shower. Ya wanna come do mine when you’re done? :-P

  6. Sharon

    Wow, that is going to be a gorgeous bathroom. I get excited about tile too and can’t wait to remodel my bathroom sometime in the future. You are truly talented and admire that you handcut the tile and prepared it. Good luck on everything else.

  7. Meredith P

    It all looks wonderful! I have what is a stupid, practical question? How do you keep that lovely tile clean? Is there some sort of sealer that goes over it when it’s installed? Those pretty holes would seem to be natural areas to collect debris…

    • Meredith, the holes get filled once the tile is grouted. Then the whole thing will be sealed. I have the same tumbled marble on my kitchen backsplash and even spaghetti sauce splashes just wipe right off.

  8. Judea

    I was so excited to finally see a picture of you. I have been following your blog for a while now and have been inspired by your sewing abilities. I am a pretend sewer myself that is I always think my sewing abilities are better than they are and once I am hand deep in a project, I realize that they aren’t. I keep practicing though and oneday I hope to be styling my own designs around town like you do. Thanks for letting me put a face to the blog. Your work is fabulous both in the sewing room and out. Bathroom looks great.

  9. JustGail

    Beautiful shower! I’m glad I’m not the only one who had the question on cleaning it!

    As far as not sewing for a whole weekend – it’ll be totally worth it to get the bathroom done sooner and to your standards!

  10. Shower looking great, but that blouse looks fabulous on you! I thought it looked good in your posts, but its even better on you! Great job!