Simplicity 2443 – Part III

This pattern calls for ribbon to be used for the front tie closures. As an exercise in futility I went to JoAnn’s this morning to see, if by chance, they had twill tape that would match. Hahahaha (snort). So, I decided to cut 2″ wide strips of self-fabric on the bias. That worked well but then I had to decide how to finish the ends. Normally, I would either tie a knot or use a cord end or bead. A cord end was out of the question because, with eight ties, that’s a lot of extra weight on one side of a lightweight jacket.

I experimented with knots with raw edges exposed or tucked in and decided it would just be too much. The last option was to tuck in the ends and hand sew them shut. It took awhile but I think it was worth the effort.

knots

I’m going to leave the bodice on the dressform while I begin working on the sleeves. I still have to decide what to do with those welts.

fronts

House update: Tile, tile, tile. We are breaking up the 18×18 tiles with 4×4 tumbled marble. Jim says otherwise it ends up looking like a mausoleum (which wouldn’t be nice). I LOVE it and can’t wait to take a shower in here.

tile

9 Comments

Filed under Miscellaneous, Simplicity, Year of the Jacket

9 responses to “Simplicity 2443 – Part III

  1. Both the jacket and the bathroom are going to be fabulous!

  2. I love that you used self fabric ties for the ribbon trim…and can I suggest that you lose the welts. They don’t seem to be adding anything to the jacket front. Congrats on the tile being put in…you are on the home stretch now!

  3. Ooohh, what a GoRRRgeous linen! Where oh where did you get it? WhatEVer you make with it would be fab – the jacket & all its unique intricate details included.

    • This is an Ellen Tracy linen that I bought at Cynthia’s Fine Fabrics here in south Florida quite a few years ago. It really is pretty.

  4. I love love this pattern and am trying to get my hands on it (long story). I can’t wait to see the finished product- it is going to be georgeous. I vote no welts either- like you said they don’t seem to add anything. :-)

  5. CGCouture

    Agreed, lose the welt thingys. Your bathroom is coming together nicely, will be interested to see it when it’s all said and done. :-)

  6. I SO remember spending hours at the Boston Design Center looking at tile during our renovation. Man, there is a LOT of freakin’ tile in the world. Eventually John gave up, went home, and left me and our architect to make the final decisions!

  7. P.S. – I think the welts are fine, but if you keep them the width of the doubled up tabs should be the same finished width as the width of the single welt. Hope that makes sense – bascially, the tabs are too fat and out of proportion to the welts. I hope that makes sense.