Simplicity 2443 – Part II

I just returned from spending the weekend in Dunellon. We were supposed to go up on Valentine’s Day weekend but had to cancel because of the accident. We enjoyed a lovely belated Valentine’s Day dinner with Bryan’s parents on Saturday night and then headed home late yesterday morning.

My asthma is in high gear today so I’ve stayed home but that isn’t preventing me from doing a little sewing. The steam from my iron is good for me, don’t you think?

This is a very easy jacket, really. However, extra care must be taken with all of the details on the front. Namely, making sure that everything matches and lines up properly. A trick I learned from Marta Alto years ago is to lay the fronts on top of each other. This is a foolproof way to make sure everything lines up.

alignment

Since this jacket is unlined and linen is so ravelly, I decided to use flat-felled seams whenever possible. The bonus is that flat-felled seams provide nice structure and support to the garment.
back

I’m pleased with the way the fronts look with the exception of that funky little welt doohickey between the pockets. Honestly, I’m not sure if I want to remove it altogether or replace it with something else.

fronts

House update: The first – and most important – row of tiles has gone in. Tomorrow the real work begins.

tile

I have to express my frustration with my mortgage company. When you have a lot of damage to your home, the mortgage company is listed as one of the payees on all checks so they have to sign off before anyone can get paid. And they seem to love taking their sweet time about it! And, to make matters worse, they somehow expect me to make 90% of the repairs with 20% of the money. If I could figure out a way to do that I’d be in high demand on the public speaking circuit, wouldn’t I?

11 Comments

Filed under Miscellaneous, Simplicity, Year of the Jacket

11 responses to “Simplicity 2443 – Part II

  1. Such a gorgeous color and the jacket is coming along nicely.

  2. Sally

    Loving your jacket. It’s on my list for purchase immediately! Definitely know about insurance companies–try making repairs from a major flood when you have to tell the contractors you’ll pay them when the check comes in. Not well received to say the least! Sally

  3. I have never made anything with a flat felled seam but you’re inspiring me to have a go. I am also in awe of how well you are dealing with this major domestic upheaval.

  4. I love the color… Are you going to make the dress too? I think the “welt doohickey thing” will look right once it’s all done – it looks good on the technical drawing anyway! PS – let me know if you figure out that 90% of the work on 20% of the money thing!

    • I don’t think I’ll make the dress (too many gathers around the middle for me) but I do want to lengthen the bodice and make a tank top. I think the styling is very interesting.

  5. Linda Thompson

    If you’re handling this claim yourself (as opposed to having a general contractor deal with the insurance company and your mortgage company), someone may forget to tell you about “recoverable depreciation” on purpose. If your insurance company has held back the depreciation on your claim and has only issued an ACV (actual cash value) check, you will need to request payment of the withheld depreciation immediately upon completion of the repairs. They don’t just send it to you–they’re hoping you don’t know to ask for it. Also, the mortgage company tries really hard to keep your money as long as they possibly can. I work for an insurance repair contractor, and you wouldn’t believe how hard it is for us to get our money. I know homeowners don’t get better treatment than we do! Love your blog and thought maybe I could give you some helpful hints.

    Linda in TN

    • Thank you, Linda! I’ll be sure to ask about that. The majority of my work is being handled by a State Farm approved contractor and, so far, he hasn’t seen a single dime. And, I am having to put out my own money for the other repairs. The mortgage company is even withholding the check made payable to me for my personal property. Do they want to come out and inspect my clothing and shoes?

      • Linda Thompson

        Probsbly. Have you provided them with your inventory list of damaged personal property? Also, until you actually replace each item and provide them with a receipt showing the purchase price of the new item, they won’t turn loose of anything over the depreciated (ACV) value of each item. Also, your contractor could demand partial payments. With a little pressure, if the mortgage company already has a partial payment, they will usually release from a third to half when the work begins. If you just get a third, you can usually get them to release another draw after you jump through their hoops, which usually means an inspection among other things. Sometimes the contractor needs to write a very persuasive letter making reference to the fact that unless money is forthcoming the work cannot be completed. It’s all a game–a very ugly one. Since your contractor has nothing to do with your personal contents, you need to call the adjuster to find out the status of your personal property claim. If he doesn’t seem helpful, a call to your agent may get some action. Good luck.

  6. How about zippers instead of welts?

  7. gia

    beautiful work on pockets and seams on your jacket front. i love the style of this jacket, will look back in previous posts to see where you got the cute linen fabric. welts – depends on what look you want at the end. zippers are pretty cool, add a little funk to a more classic style. welts are classic imo, but this detail shows your skills. we just bought a new house, all is pretty finished inside, the outside is terraced in back lots of grass and a blank slate. good luck w/your remodel. ciao gia

  8. A wonderful purple (just your colour!) jacket right at the perfect time. At least when swing poses a problem, you can correct it with a seam ripper. Not so with insurance companies. How frustrating. My mother was a psychologist, and there were wretched stories of health insurers refusing to pay for the treatment for people who were very ill. My heart goes out to you. Yet another obstacle when you really, really don’t need another one! Courage, Gigi. One step at a time, easy does it and you will make it.