Do you BMV?

During the last pattern sale at JoAnn’s I ran myself crazy, back and forth and back and forth, waiting for the new patterns to be put out. I finally had to drive to a store 30 minutes away to get my patterns. It occurred to me that it might save me a whole lot of aggravation – and only cost a little more – to join Club BMV. At least I think so. I might pick up a few things at JoAnn’s when I go in to buy patterns but otherwise I’d have no reason to shop there.

How many of you are members of Club BMV and how do you like it?

22 Comments

Filed under Patterns

22 responses to “Do you BMV?

  1. Mary Cargill

    I joined about a year ago, and really like it. I wait until there are good sales, and then they take a little extra off, so generally Vogues cost about $4.

  2. Auntie Allyn

    I’ve been a satisfied member of Club BMV for a couple of years . . . and have the drawers of (mostly unused) patterns to prove it! I live in a major metropolitan area with several good fabric stores nearby, but my time is valuable and I’d rather just wait for a Club BMV sale to order the patterns I want. Internet ordering saves me several hours of time that I’d spend driving to the stores for the patterns, and I place a great value on my time.

  3. I did it for a year and didn’t renew. I didn’t find it beneficial at all. I have both a Hancock and Jo-Anns nearby and they ALWAYS have a sale on patterns. And I don’t have to pay shipping.

  4. I am an enthusiastic fan of Club BMV! I don’t frequent the craft store masquerading as a fabric store and there are no Hancocks near me so if I didn’t Club BMV, I would never have any new patterns. I have found though that you should wait for the best sale…they have many but every 4 or 5th sale is the really great $3.99 sale plus you get 10% off that.

    They are never out of your size. They ship promptly. I don’t think shipping is prohibitive especially when you compare it to a couple of gallons of gas. And I can put the patterns I want in the shopping cart to await a sale.

    I think of the club fee as a membership fee – a small token to pay to join an exclusive club! :) I think you should give it a try…you might really enjoy it!

  5. I love club BMV. I wish I could say I have more patterns because of it but that is not true, but I get the patterns I want when I want them and I often pay less than I did before, so it works for me.

    I have two JoAnn fabrics nearby, one is about a 30 minute drive, the other 40 (one way). They are both run by the same person and neither one gets new patterns out into the drawers for about a month to six weeks after the patterns have been on the website, so if I drive down for a sale, the new patterns are never there and if they run out of a size it takes that same time to get the drawers restocked.

    So I guess it is a question of convenience, and for me it works.

  6. I recently joined (a month or so ago) when I wanted a couple of out-of-stock patterns plus some Vogues that were currently not on sale at Jo-Anns. I like it so far. Plus Jo-Anns rarely has any $1 pattern sales anymore (usually $2 or $3) so it’s almost a wash.

  7. Nancy H.

    I’ve been a member for a little over a year; I like it. I can save up items I want but don’t need immediately, using the Wish List, and then order when there’s a great sale. As Carolyn has said, they always have my size and every pattern that I want to buy. It’s always more convenient to order online during a sale than to run to the local Jo-Ann’s–even if I spend slightly more, I’ve saved time, which is just as precious to me.

  8. I’ve been kicking around the idea of joining. I have 2 Hancock’s and 2 JoAnn’s fairly close to me but most of them STILL don’t have the new patterns out. I’ve wasted quite a bit of time and money trying to get those patterns this past month. I should’ve just bought them online.

  9. I think it’s great to shop on-line… I never have time to get the the store, and it’s such a waste if I make time to get there only to find that they don’t have what I’m looking for. The shipping cost is not prohibitive. It’s worth it for me to pay that and save my time and energy… Hope this helps!

  10. I’m in Australia and have been a BMV member now since it began. I love it. I always wait until the patterns are on sale though, so a Vogue pattern, while usually upwards of $25 here, can cost me around $4 or $5, and even with shipping included it’s still a lot cheaper than waiting for sales at my local fabric shop. I also get them ahead of them being released here as you’re a couple of seasons ahead of us.

    I think it’s terrific. I don’t bother buying patterns anywhere else now, unless of course I’m after vintage.
    Hope that’s a help
    Lesley

  11. D

    I’m going to go sign up!!!

  12. Jenny

    I am a Club BMV member (mostly hooked on Vogue Patterns) and like the convenience, savings, and ability to plan purchases. When new patterns come out I shop the collection at my leisure and drop anything of interest into my “wish list” queue. Then when a sale comes along I am ready to choose from my presecreened collections so I don’t make impulse purchases.

    The web site has been redesigned and multiple images are available for most patterns, including some images of constructed garments on models. Shipping is fast. Sales occur regularly.

    Here are a few tips to make the most of your membership:
    1) Shipping pricing breaks occur at 3 pattern and 7 pattern orders, so plan accordingly to minimize your shipping $$.
    2) Sales of all three pattern lines (mix and match) at $3.99/pattern are fairly common as are “Buy 1, Get 2 Free.”
    3) Butterick and McCalls lines often have $2.99/pattern sales.
    4) At the end of 2009 there was a $1.99 sale on all three pattern llines. I’ve only seen this level of discounting once and cleaned out my wishlist queue. It was fun. :)

  13. subversivesewer

    I don’t see the point. I have a Joann and Hancock within a 10-15 minute drive (less when the snowbirds go away) and I’ve had 99% success in the patterns I want being in stock.

  14. I belonged for a year, but I never used it. I have a Hancock’s 10 minutes from work, another one 10 minutes from home, as well as Hobby Lobby and JoAnn’s locally as well. So at the most I could just wait a couple of weeks and get patterns for prices better than what ClubBMV gets you. I have so many patterns at home, I never have a “pattern emergency,” that I have to have one and can’t wait for the new ones to get to the local stores.

  15. Gail Daigh

    Jo-Ann’s, like it or not, has excellent sales on patterns: Simplicity and McCall’s for 99 cents, Butterick for $1.99, and Vogues for $3.99. I’ve yet to see a BMV sale match those prices, plus the shipping cost. I also have not had a problem getting my size. So I don’t think I’ll join.

  16. Gigi – I think it comes down to access or whether your time is more valuable to you than schlepping around to stores to find the patterns you want. I think there are very devoted people on either side of the coin…you just have to figure out what works best for you!

  17. I have been debating the same question myself. I have to investigate the cost versus my time a little closer. Thanks for opening this up.

  18. I’m so glad you asked this question. Personally, I gave up buying from Joann’s 2 years ago. Unlike many, my closest store is particularly cheap. Everthing I want is always on sale for $2-$3 less than full price and the coupons apply only to the first yard. Since I have to drive 3.5 hours, these discounts don’t add up to much for me.

    But for BMV it was the first comment, Vogues at approximately $4 which really interests me. I love much of the Vogue styling, but I’m not willing to pay $20-$30 for a pattern to be used once. But $4?? Well that would be good. I may have to take a trial membership just to see how true, er how that really works for me in my corner of the world.

  19. Phyllis

    Right now I’m really trying to cut back on patterns, I have way too many! So no I have never joined BMV.

  20. RebeccaD

    I was a skeptic at first, but love buying Vogues for just $1 over the best Joanns sale price. As others have mentioned – never out of your size, you get them quickly. The little bit of extra money spent is worth it.

  21. Mmmm… I’d ‘love’ to join, but more for the feeling that buying patterns is indulging my sewing hobby, rather than doing any actual sewing. However, yesterday Madeline slept very quietly beside me while I serged some baby things for her :) But if BMV were somehow to merge with Simplicity so I could get their cute tops (you hooked me on SIM tops with the twist top!) the urge to join would be unbearable! Good thing they’re owned by different companies.

  22. Pingback: Register to Vote | Quick Car Insurance Quote Los Angeles