McCall’s 5984 – Closures!

I didn’t get any sewing done today, much to my dismay. I found out yesterday that the plumber would be here tomorrow to rough in the shower fixture. Eh, no big deal (I thought), I’ll go to The Depot in the morning and pick something up. Well, three Home Depots and a Lowe’s later I hadn’t found any fixture that I could live with, let alone really liked. I finally called the plumbing supply shop in Ft. Lauderdale around 2:30 and found out they were open until 4:00. I arrived at 3:00 and left a half-hour later with the necessary diverters and valves. Everything else I’ll pick up on Friday. I spent the same amount of money and received much better service and a superior product. The only thing that could have made my shopping experience any better is if they’d handed me a cold beer after I signed the bill. Yes, that’s how stressed I was by this time!

I did sew the closures onto my red boucle jacket – just so the weekend wouldn’t be a total bust. After going through my entire button collection, I still liked the snaps the best. I think they are funky and add interest to the large collar. It was pretty warm today but I hope to wear it next weekend when the temps dip again.

redjacket

10 Comments

Filed under McCall's, misc., Year of the Jacket

10 responses to “McCall’s 5984 – Closures!

  1. CGCouture

    I like the snaps, they definitely add interest and give your eyes a break from all the red-plaid-y-ness. ;-) Sorry to hear about your home improvement woes, but it’s nice to know that we aren’t the only ones with crappy luck like that. You’ll probably prefer the fixtures from the plumbing supply store anyway, since it will have less plastic pieces and will last longer. :-)

  2. The snaps look perfect. Well done!
    It’s nice to get even a small task finished when the rest of life is so chaotic. Hope you get closure with the plumbing, too ;)

  3. Very cool. I love the collar.

  4. I love the snaps. I think that jacket will look smashing on you!

  5. Wow! What a day? I hope you went out for dinner. Your jacket is great. Sally

  6. Theresa in Tucson

    The other nice thing about using a plumbing supply house is talking to someone who knows plumbing. The big box stores have clerks who may have some plumbing experience. The jacket is looking good.

  7. Love the use of the snaps… and the jacket is going to look so good… lovely fabric.

  8. judi0044

    Your jacket is divine – I heart the fabric. Such a versatile piece. Good luck with your plumbing and look forward to new sewing projects to come!

  9. I like hardware showing, when appropriate. The snaps look–modern. Like exposed zippers. Nice job.

  10. I really like those big snaps!!
    I hope you were able to have the cold beer once you got home after all that plumbing shopping!