Saturday Update

The Simplicity jacket is all cut out and interfaced – ready to sew. I hope to get started on it this weekend. I probably won’t get much done because I do have to give my bedroom a good cleaning. It’s amazing how much dust manages to get through even with the doorway sealed off. I think that may be why I’ve been coughing so much all week.

We are down to the studs in most of the bathroom.

shower

The WC still looks really bad. I guess the walls were yellow when I moved in 22 years ago. I had blocked that out forgotten.

My friend Tom is coming over this afternoon to help me with the niches in the shower. Right now I have this arched one and want to replace it with two rectangles for more storage. I’m sure the tile installer will appreciate not having to make all of those cuts. My friend Jim – who does high-end bathrooms in multi-million dollar homes – says my soap dish is very lame. I think he should come shopping with me.

niche

The exterior plastering is done!

plaster

On the agenda for the weekend: buying new faucets, building niches and deciding on a tile layout. Oh, and a soap dish of some sort.

6 Comments

Filed under misc., Uncategorized

6 responses to “Saturday Update

  1. Oh poor you. I wouldn’t wat to be in your situation but I have been in the past. It’s a wonder you can even think about sewing!

  2. I’m very sorry that you have to go through all this. But it will be fab when you’re done and you’re making great progress!

  3. What allot of work, but it will look beautiful I’m sure when you are done.

  4. Meredith P

    Lightening fast progress! Wow! It’s really coming along.

  5. CGCouture

    LOL @ the “lame soap dish”. Looks like you are progressing nicely, and it’s going to be SO nice to have your house back. I’ll be anxiously awaiting pictures of your jacket! :-)

  6. Glad to hear the reconstruction is going smoothly.

    We’ve been in our house now 12 years and some of the original colors still haunt me LOL ! We had an UGLY purple bathroom with dusty rose fixtures (toilet, bath AND sink) and a 12″ flower border print around the ceiline. Bathroom was repainted within the first week of ownership !