Simplicity 2443

I’m moving on to this adorable little jacket from Cynthia Rowley. It’s unlined and just the thing to wear over a tank this summer. Plus it has lots of little pieces that’ll be perfect to work on in small blocks of time.

Notice the Year of the Jacket ticker in the sidebar. 12 jackets? I hope I can do it!

simplicity2443

I am going to work with this beautiful Ellen Tracy linen that I bought at Cynthia’s Fine Fabrics a few years ago.

linen

DAILY (oh, how I love that!) HOUSE PROGRESS:

The plasterer is applying the skim coat as we speak.

plasterer

The tile chipper has been going all day in my bathroom. Getting this terra cotta tile out has proven to be pretty difficult (how great that I don’t have to do it!) but the demo should be finished tomorrow so the tile man can start on Monday. I want to add another cubby to the shower over the weekend and get a plumber out to do the preliminary work for new faucets.

shower

The window company was also out this morning to measure for the new French doors. You know, I was very apprehensive about letting someone else manage this project for me but now I am so glad I did because things are moving along like clockwork!

11 Comments

Filed under Miscellaneous, Simplicity, Year of the Jacket

11 responses to “Simplicity 2443

  1. I love Cynthia Rowley patterns. Can’t wait to see it finished!

  2. Meredith P

    Love that pattern. Thanks for mentioning it.

    House looks good! Is the debris out of the pool yet? Seems like it would soften up in the water and gum up the plumbing.

    • I actually had a diver in my pool yesterday – he said the water was COLD. All the debris is now out and the pump is running again – yay!

  3. Sally

    How nice that things seem to be moving along quite nicely and that you’re able to get to do some sewing! “New” house and new clothes–what could be better. Sally

  4. I am amazed at how fast your house project is moving.

  5. I’m glad things are moving along on your house. 12 jackets in a year…I think you can do with no problem :)

  6. I’m interested to see how that Cynthia Rowley jacket closes with the ties. Love the fabric you chose.

  7. Jill

    Hi Gigi,
    I bought that pattern because I thought the dress bodice, with a little lengthening, would make an interesting tank top. What do you think of the idea?

  8. I just got that Cynthia Rowley too! For me, the jury’s still out on the jacket, but I thought the vest was cute. And what can I say–JoAnn’s had Simplicity on sale 5 for $5.

  9. I have this same pattern. I love that little coat and ties are so unique. I had problems with my last Cynthia Rowley pattern so I’m worried to jump in on this. Let me know how it goes!