Tidying up

Lately it seems as if every available horizontal surface in both rooms is piled with sewing “stuff” (the cutting tables being the worst). I need to get some sewing done and was at the point where I could not think or be productive with so much clutter around me.

All of you know that I am a fabric “collector”. I admit it and embrace it! But, eventually, everything has to be put away and there was no way it was going to fit in the fabric closet. Jess’ old closet to the rescue! I already had fabric hanging in one side and have my Merrow on the other side so I figured I might as well make it a full-fledged knits-only closet. A quick trip to Home Depot and $40 later I had two long shelves and the hardware necessary to give myself a lot more storage. It took me less than an hour to cut and install the shelves (the top and bottom shelves were already there). Do yourself a favor and have one of those nice people at Home Depot cut them for you. It was not so easy cutting them myself with the bolt cutters. I guess I could have had Bryan do it for me but I wanted it done right then and there – you know how it is.

closet1

Yesterday morning I put everything away, just folded for now. The closet still needs to be painted which will wait until after the holidays. Then I will measure and roll everything. The fabrics on hangers are wovens that need to go in the other closet but they haven’t been logged in yet. I suspect that’ll wait until guests are coming and I need to make room for their clothes!

closet2

I know it doesn’t look like a lot of storage but, check it out, these shelves are 83″ long!

closet3

19 Comments

Filed under Fabric, Sewing Studio

19 responses to “Tidying up

  1. Gigi ~ I love when you post pictures of your fabric collection! It lets me know that I’m not alone and that someone else out there loves collecting it as much as I do! :)

  2. Meredith P

    Gigi, I think you’re the champ in that contest. ;-)

    I just reorganized my fabric (well, started during the summer and finished a few weeks ago) and now am going through my inventory (“catalog” with swatches) to see approximately how many yards I have. Just for curiosity’s sake.

    I think your closets are beautiful! And don’t those endorphins flow after a project like this?!

  3. This is so impressive! What a gorgeous collection you have…

  4. i am so jealous!!! i don’t even have that much space for my clothes, let alone my spare fabric. you are one lucky woman!

  5. I’m running out of room and will have to scale back fabric collecting this year. You know it’s all your fault too. I keep in mind what you said about great knits being hard to find so you pick them up where ever you find them. My collection grew large following that advice. Maybe 2010 should be the year for wovens.

  6. Not easy to cut for sure! And always buy a bag of caps for the very sharp cut ends, because they can make painful cuts onto legs and ahnds (Ask me how I know this)

  7. Your fabric collection makes me feel good — you have way more than I have!! I want to come look at it up close and personal!!

  8. I want a closet like that. My dream house will have one. Thanks for the inspiration.

  9. Theresa in Tucson

    Yup, I want a closet like that too. My stash is stashed all over. I don’t want multiple closets, just a space where I can store, categorize and see everything at once. The offspring has already been warned, when he leaves home, his room is mine. Enjoy.

  10. Sz

    Ahh, thanks for posting pictures of your collection. So nice to know someone who shares this passion.

  11. Oh Gigi, I love your closet! And having just spent a week measuring, logging and storing fabrics I don’t feel nearly so bad now. I have learned I need another closet so everything is on hold until after the holidays and after the guests leave. Your fabrics are so beautiful.

    You are right they are not easy to cut, although I had to resort to a saw with a metal blade as my bolt cutters wouldn’t do it.

  12. justgail

    Nice collection! When I put up the wire shelves (in 5 closets at once), I used a hack saw to cut. And then sanded the ends a bit, even though I was putting the caps on. I have a couple of closets that I think I’m going to put another shelf in, my sewing closet is one. It seems that the stacks are a bit too high and the piles are leaning.

  13. Hi, I was just browsing for pattern paper and I came to your site, and I notice how organized you were being in a small space, and it gave me some ideas, without selling some of my things, thanks very much. By the way where did you get your manila pattern paper, I’m really needing some, once again thanks so much. Maria

    • Maria, I bought my manila paper on Ebay but you can get it at South Star Supply.

      • Thank you so very much, and by the way you have inspired me to get organized, so that’s what I’m working on now, but its hard when the space is only 12×12, but I will do my best in making it work. When I get it going i will send pictures, and once again thanks

  14. I just returned to visit and admire your stash of knit prints! They are exorbantly overpriced here. Online shops? Ha! How lucky you are.

  15. Carol in Denver

    Hi, Gigi, I roll my fabric, too, as you said you will be doing. When finished, the wall looks like a wall of roses! Very nice.

    If you want dividers for your shelves, you may be interested in what I’ve done. I buy a bunch of small s-hooks. I use pieces of unhemmed very stretchy knit fabric (I prefer white) with an s-hook at each corner. I slip an s-hook over the front & back, top & bottom, rods of the shelf with each fabric piece stretched tautly from its corners. No sewing, inexpensive, easy and effective. I like these better than the dividers Elfa sells. The edges of the fabric sometimes curl which looks nice.

    Carol in Denver

  16. Carol in Denver

    I forgot to mention I just poke the s-hook through the corners of the fabric pieces, about 1 inch in from edges. I use an awl to create the hole.