Reliable i500 Boiler Iron

Well, it’s official – I’m in love with my new iron! I was so excited when it arrived today that I wanted to kiss the UPS man. :-) Eight days from Canada is pretty quick, don’t you think? I had the chance to use it a tonight as I’m in the middle of a sample-making job. I can’t begin to tell you how wonderful the steam is. My old Naomoto pales in comparison, poor little thing. If you’ve been looking at these Reliable boiler irons wondering whether or not you should buy one, I heartily recommend it.

Here is the boiler unit on it’s stand:

boiler

And the iron on the silicone rest. It can also rest on the silicone nubs on the boiler unit as shown above.

ion

I hope to get the vacuum board with sleeve board later on.

24 Comments

Filed under Pressing Equipment

24 responses to “Reliable i500 Boiler Iron

  1. Gigi – is it a “dry” steam? I’m looking at the little sister to this model but I would love your feedback.

    • It is dry steam. Honestly, after using it one night I can tell you it’s miles above any iron I’ve ever used. That’s saying a lot ’cause you know how much I love my Naomoto! I’d love to get it’s little sister for my other sewing room, sigh.

  2. Summerset

    Very cool! What a fun toy!

  3. I have occasionally wanted to kiss the UPS guy – some of them are pretty hawt!;)

  4. Meant to ash – do the lights dim when you use it? :P

    • Heehee, no they don’t. But I know I won’t be able to use it and the heat press at the same time as that tripped the breaker even with my old iron.

  5. It’s so pretty! I hav sadly dropped my gravity feed one too many times.

  6. Meredith P

    So, on the rare occasion when you need to add water, is that part pressurized? Do you have to let it cool? I suppose the easy solution to that is to check your tank in the AM, before you crank her up :-)

    • Meredith, it has enough steam for 4 hours of continuous use. I check the water level before I start because you do need to let it cool before you can add more water. Releasing the pressure is easy. You simply slightly unscrew the tank cap to release the steam.

  7. Theresa in Tucson

    GIgi, naughty, naughty, you are enabling again. I’m going to have to put a warning on my computer with regards to your blog. “Danger! Hazardous to pocketbook and good intentions to buy no more sewing stuff.” I am in awe of that iron but it will have to wait (sigh). I want a serger and a dress form more. Enjoy playing with your new toy.

  8. Ohhhhhh, lovely report. I’m an iron maiden, too. This makes this baby very tempting.

  9. Lovely iron! Lets face it, only sewing obsessed people can understand lust for an iron. Not that I am in the market right now, but what is ‘dry steam’?

    • Nancy, dry steam is superheated steam. While technically all steam is moist to some degree it is much drier than the steam you’d get from a gravity feed or standard iron which both make moist steam.

  10. Forget the way it works! I love the way it looks!!! I might get to enjoy ironing if I had a baby like that.

  11. Helen K

    Gigi, where in Canada did you buy this beauty? Congratulations!
    Helen

    • Helen, I bought it from Atlanta Thread but it is drop-shipped from the Reliable Corporation in Canada. You can probably find local retailers on their site or order direct.

  12. Oooohhhh! Santa said you’d been a very good girl this year and even agreed to make an early delivery. Oh, a vacuum board with attached steam board? Gigi, you know how to be good to yourself. Go on, girl!

  13. ooooh, new iron, what fun!
    shiny.

  14. Els

    Beautiful new iron.You should also buy a Teflon shoe and will not regret it.

  15. I am in the market for a new iron and after posting back and forth with Mary Beth I thought I’d check your iron :) It does sound pretty awesome.
    Are you still thrilled with this purchase?
    I live in Canada,can you tell me where you bought it from. Thank you. Ann

    • Hi Ann! I ordered it from Atlanta Thread but it was shipped directly from the Reliable factory in Canada. I do believe you can order directly from them. I am just thrilled to pieces with this iron and can’t wait to get one for the other sewing room!

      • Hi Gigi,after all this time I (my husband) finally just ordered the i300 :) I can’t wait for it to come in. I ended up buying straight from the Reliable factory :) Thank you for your information on this
        iron :) and I hope you are still liking your iron.

  16. Ok…so I am new at this whole “world” of sewing, and feel very lost most of the time :-). I always hear how much of a difference a good iron makes on the final garment. Why? Does a great iron like yours aide in creating professional looking garments or is it just a fun toy to have? I am trying to decide whether I should invest in one or not. I am open to any suggestions. Thank you!