I Love Knippie!

knipmode

I fell in love with this adorable skirt (view 16B) in the October, 2009 issue of Knip Mode and ordered a copy from Stoff Art on Ebay, with whom I’ve dealt countless times (she also sells Patrones and Diana – please note that she is currently on vacation).

rock

I absolutely love Knip Mode! Nearly all the patterns come in my size and they are so much easier to trace than Burda WOF. I don’t read Dutch but it’s similar enough to German that I can figure out what’s what. Note that there are only two colors to trace on this particular sheet – black (zwart) or red (rood). Some of the other sheets also use green (groen). The lines are easy to see and the paper is white and glossy.

patternsheet

The sheets are also smaller so they are more manageable. I’m able to lay one sheet out on a 4′ table so I traced off the skirt while it was slow this afternoon.

sheets

I have always wanted a subscription to Knip Mode. Right now, it costs me about $20 per individual issue (with shipping). Yes, they are available each month from Stoff Art but that’s more than I can justify paying so I’m pretty particular about which ones I buy. If my grandmother were still alive I’d ask her to send them to me every month! How wonderful would it be to get Knip Mode and Burda WOF every month? I’d be in heaven! Speaking of Burda, I caved and resubscribed. I loved the last two issues so much and was lured back in. AND, I’ve actually traced a garment from each issue already!

I finished my silk blouse last week but decided that it’s just too risky to sew at the shop. Although I was very careful working on it (I constantly washed my hands and covered the tables with examining table paper) I still managed to get an oil stain on the front. I was going to bring my Marrakesh pants in anyway but once the Knip Mode arrived I decided that was a safer project. I may bring a denim skirt with me next week. There isn’t much that could happen to denim, right?

My friend is just starting to come back to the shop for a couple of hours each day. I’m guessing I’ll still be working overtime here for a few weeks. I absolutely can’t wait to get back to my normal schedule. I’ve been too tired to sew and am becoming very b*tchy!

14 Comments

Filed under Burda WOF, Hot Patterns, Knipmode

14 responses to “I Love Knippie!

  1. One of these days I will have to try out Knip Mode. I hear such good things about their patterns!

  2. cidell

    I too just decided to resubscribe to Burda. I was annoyed with them earlier in the year, but we’ve made up with the October 2009 issue.

    • I’m still mad at Burda for starting so few things in my size but I guess I’m resigned to it. Almost everything in Knippie now starts at 34 – it wasn’t so just a few short years ago so maybe there’s hope for Burda!

  3. Hey that blue dress on the cover looks like the vintage one you were considering on Etsy!

  4. Love that skirt design! I may have to give Knip Mode a try.

  5. Isn’t it possible for you to get a subscription on Knipmode? I have been thinking: Paying 20 dollars on a knipmode sounds like a ridiculous amount. I have no idea what the prize would be, but I would be happy to help you out (since I live in the Netherlands) if you’d like that and know which issues you’d really love to receive. Let me know if I can do anything!

  6. I have a subscription to Knip Mode (BTW: Knippie is their children’s clothing issue), and I live in London, so I know they ship abroad. It costs me around EUR 110 for a year, which is brilliant, but I wasn’t able to find the cost for shipping to the US on either the KNIP Mode website or the distributor’s website without having to go through the actual ordering process. Let me know if you want me to find out for you, and I’ll have another look.

    In total honesty I find KnipMode a bit repetitive sometimes, but I guess you have to see every issue to find out that they make slight alterations to an older pattern (and sometimes not even that) and sell it as “new”!

    Should you have any questions about Knip, please feel free to contact me. I’m Dutch and would be more than happy to assist in case you run into any language problems. Also, you could check out the “Sewing Dictionary” on Naaipatronen.nl (http://www.naaipatronen.nl/woordenlijst.html) and find the word you’re looking for by using Ctr+F.

  7. vernonfashionstudio

    This may sound like a silly question but what kind of writing instrument do you use to trace with? I have tried all the usual suspects with unsatisfactory results.

    Linda T

  8. Gigi..you are going to look SO good in that skirt!

    (I need to see if I can get Knippie (for kids), from the source you mentioned. I LOVE Ottobre for kids, but lately their designs have been rather boring.)

  9. Ann-Marie

    I am dutch and living in the Netherlands.
    It would be no problem for me to send you an issue every month. Don”t know how much it would cost to send it, but if you like I will ask tomorrow at the postoffice.

  10. katharinec

    Hi Gigi–your comment already attracted all of the Dutch speakers in the Netherlands, and also this one in Belgium :) Funny, you guess Dutch from German and I guess German from Dutch! BTW you could email the subscription service in English and/or German to ask them what they’d charge to Florida.

  11. Very cute skirt pattern – I look forward to seeing it made!

  12. I have this issue and the September issue, but I hadn’t bought one in months because I too find them a bit repetitive. I’ve only made 1 dress from them but I liked the fit. I really need to make a few more to justify the cost of each issue!