Oops.

I cut a large piece of my pink silk to fuse for the collar, stand and cuff pieces on Monday night. It was all squared up on the press, so nice. I laid my interfacing down on it and then I forgot to wipe off the Teflon sheets that I use when fusing. Yep, oops. That piece of silk is a goner – it had bits of fusible glue from my last project all over the face. I was able to squeeze one stand piece out of a good area but the rest is lost. I was reduced to picking through the waste baskets for large scraps. Thank goodness I didn’t put the trash out on Monday!!! Luckily, I was able to collect enough scraps but I was so mad at myself that I didn’t even want to sew last night. I know better, really, I do.

9 Comments

Filed under This and that

9 responses to “Oops.

  1. Leslie

    Oh no Gigi. Been there done that, but it sure does suck. This is why I hesitate (sometimes months) to throw out my scraps.

  2. Meredith P

    It’s good to know when to walk away temporarily :-)

  3. Doh! I feel your pain. I’ve been known to creatively piece facings, stands and anything that may be covered up when that has happened to me.

  4. Theresa in Tucson

    Ouch! I can relate to digging through the trash looking for big scraps. I have to be careful and tell my DH to leave the trash baket alone until I’m done. He methodically (it’s the German in him) empties trash baskets when they get a bit over half full. Glad you could salvage enough for a save.

  5. That must have been so frustrating for you!
    Glad that you salvage all of it!
    Micki

  6. vernonfashionstudio

    Oh no! How frustrating. I am a hoarder when it comes to scraps so the only time something like this happens is when I am trying to squeeze a garment out of too little fabric. It never happens when I have lots of scraps. I am glad you were able to make it work and I can’t wait to see it done.

  7. katharinec

    Ohhhhh… that is a tough moment. Good for you for getting back on the horse again.

  8. Oh I can relate to all of that, including digging through the trash.

  9. Summerset

    Ooof. Yes, I’ve been there with my head in the trash can, trying to find suitable scraps to fix a mistake.