New Look 6891

My honey’s first home game is this coming Friday and I am determined to wear comfortable footwear! Believe it or not (haha), I am not a sensible shoes type of girl and spent last football season on the sidelines in high heels. This year, I am planning ahead and making some cute outfits to wear with comfortable shoes, namely my Frye Campus 14Ls.

campus

As much as I love chunky boots, they are a bit problematic, stylewise. I was thumbing through an old Anthropologie catalog the other night and immediately fell in love with this outfit (and how awesome is her hair!?!?!?). Yes, I detest skinny jeans (really, what woman wants to look like a lightbulb?) but they are perfect tucked into boots! Hopefully, I’ll be able to find a pair by Friday. Since it’s still quite warm here, I’ll be skipping the jacket for now. But I’d wear boots year-round if I could – Lord knows I’ve tried!

anthropologie

For the tunic, I decided on New Look 6891 in a beautiful rayon challis from the now-defunct Textile Studios fabric store. This fabric has been in my collection at least three years.

nl6891

What I liked about this pattern was that it didn’t seem too full. Normally, I would never buy a pattern that starts at a 10 since I hate having to grade down the shoulder and upper chest but I liked this enough to deal with that. As usual, I started by tissue fitting and was pleasantly surprised that the shoulders fit very well and there was enough ease (39″ in the size 10) through the bust that I was able to skip the FBA. I did make my usual forward shoulder, sway back and sleeve length alterations but that’s it.

paisleytunic

For such a simple top that’s very easy to put together, it is surprisingly flattering. The neckline binding/ties took more time than anything else. There are only a few gathers over the bustline – if you needed to make an FBA it would be so simple to move the additional fullness there.

This is definitely a keeper that I’ll be making again. And, for those of you who’ve inquired, yes, I am working on those HP pants! I have a few irons in the fire, so to speak, and trying to get the most pressing ones out first.

26 Comments

Filed under Fabric, New Look, Shoes

26 responses to “New Look 6891

  1. Gigi – you are the Queen of tops! Another stunner!

  2. It’s gorgeous! I love the print and purples are hot for fall. You’ll sure be stylin’ on the sidelines!

  3. katharinec

    Oooooohhh, we love this! And the belt just *makes* it! Swirling purple paisley in breathable rayon. Oh it’s sumputuous! Will you make one to wear with your Zuni belt?
    I love boots and a knit dress, or a lab coat. No lightbulb look (that is an accurate description)

  4. Boots year round….well that makes two of us! And when you get your copy of the 8/2009 Burda WOF look for Burda version of the top worn by that Anthropologie model. An Anthropologie store just opend up like 5 minutse from our house; I hope the store has the same good markdowns as their web site.

  5. cgcf1979

    I love the shirt, belt and boots! :)

  6. You are a real beauty and I love the boots and the whole look!
    Micki

  7. Lindsay T

    Definitely a foxy look….

  8. Hi Gigi, I am new to your site and am also an avid pattern keeper and collector…I found you while doing an image search for 1970′s patterns. Lo and behold I saw your McCalls 4090 (June 09) and Butterick John Kloss 5118.

    I have the McCalls pattern and used to have the Butterick one, but lost it. I was wondering if you could let me know where you were able to purchase them, as I would like to replace them both. My McCalls one is very tatty. I have quite a few patterns from the 70′s, right thru the 80′s,90′s and current ones….in fact they take up at least four large plastic storage containers. I must try your systemn for sorting them so I can find each one more easily.
    Thanks
    Lesley

  9. Elizabeth

    Looooove the boots. I wear them year round too as much as possible.
    Great look.

  10. That’s a gorgeous top, and it look very fall-ish!

  11. beautiful top. gorgeous fabric.

  12. vicki

    you make the best tops. The outfit will look really cute. Good luck in finding the right jeans.

  13. Very sexy, Gigi.

    I was drooling over your studio setup and wanted to ask you if you could tell me the size of the cutout hole for a set-in sewing machine. I am trying to figure out if I can buy an industrial table and it is has enough room for my Janome 6500 machine. Help? Thanks!

    • Gigi

      Fulvia, industrial tabletops come pre-cut for specific machine models and have hooks for the hinges. To inset a home machine you’d have to buy a blank top and cut the hole yourself. Since modern home machines do not have hinges, you’d have to make a shelf for the machine to sit in.

  14. Summerset

    Love it! Of course, I’m a sucker for a good paisley. I love the belt you’ve styled with it, too.

  15. Very cute and so fall.

  16. This pattern is really beautiful and I think it looks great with your skin! good going!
    Lacey
    http://www.sewingcouture.com/

  17. Cindy May

    look at the j.crew toothpick jeans. they seem like they would be tiny, but they look great on very hippy me!

  18. Page

    This looks great – excellent fabric choice. Where did you get the belt? Love the whole outfit!

  19. Pingback: A Diversion – New Look 6891 « Gigi Sews

  20. melissa

    This is adorable. I may have to buy this pattern LOL Great Job