Vogue 8196 – Planning stages

A couple of weeks ago, I remembered that I had about 5 yards of black wool gauze in my “collection”. I thought it would be perfect for this Vogue pattern:

vogue8196

I decided that I’d like to use Cluny lace (vs. a more delicate lace) to keep it from being too froufrou. Since I couldn’t find anything of good quality locally I decided to take a chance and order online. I found what looked to be some really pretty vintage laces at Deb’s Lace & Trims for a very good price. Well, the laces came today and I am very pleased! These are exactly what I had in mind – they weren’t sold as coordinates but I thought they went together very well.

laces

Parting shot: The past few days, I’ve noticed that my old girl Kanga has been pushing the decorative pillow/sham off of the regular sleeping pillows for her daytime nap. She usually sleeps in the chair next to the bed but I guess she was ready for a change.

kanga

7 Comments

Filed under Fabric, Kitties, Notions, Vogue

7 responses to “Vogue 8196 – Planning stages

  1. Beverly Wainio

    Gigi-I just wanted to say that I have really been enjoying your blog for a few monthes now. The swiss top so far is my favorite. Thanks so much for sharing your talants and fun with all of us and teaching it’s alright to not alwys get it right the first time. Peace to you and yours.

  2. katharinec

    Lovely Cluny lace, they look perfect together. Kanga seems to go for less frou-frou too if she is swipping the decorative pillow sham off. Guess you are inspiring each other.

  3. Elizabeth

    Sleeeepy Kiiitty… is there anything more peaceful than a napping cat?

    Great blog, Gigi! I’ve been reading it for a while but I never posted. I couldn’t resist Kanga though :)

  4. Pretty lace…and Kanga is just ADORABLE !

    ~ Pam (Mommy to 3 kitties)

  5. L*O*V*E black Cluny lace! And black Cluny insertion is hard to find too. Don’t forget to pre-srhink it.

  6. Summerset

    The lace is pretty and it does coordinate beautifully. Kanga is such a beautiful girl – love her coloring.

  7. I like the laces and they will work wonderfully in the blouse!