Dotted Swiss – Part I

It’s 10:30 p.m. and I’ve accomplished quite a bit since I started work on the blouse about 3.5 hours ago. The bodice is complete so all I have to do tomorrow is construct and set the sleeves and finish the hem.

dottedswissfront

Although the dots line up across the bodice front pieces but they look funky because the tucks are pressed in opposite directions. An interesting problem but not problematic enough to make me want to cut another front. Sometimes I think that I am becoming so overly fussy that I’ll have to start cutting everything single layer!

dottedswisstucks

Tomorrow I also need to plan and fit my next project so that I have something to work on during the week. I’m not really sure what it’ll be – there are so many choices!

I’m off to pour myself a nice glass of wine and grab the new stack of patterns I picked up today. Don’t you all just love reading patterns and sewing books in bed?

24 Comments

Filed under Fabric, Simplicity

24 responses to “Dotted Swiss – Part I

  1. I find reading patterns in bed to be quite enjoyable. I like taking a stack in and going through two or three before I sleep. It always leads to good dreams.

  2. vernonfashionstudio

    We tend to be our own worse critics, don’t we? I think it looks great and is off to a good start.

    Linda T

  3. Nujoi

    It is very beautiful. Don’t worry about fixing a thing.

  4. I totally see what you mean but would I “fix” it? Naw.

  5. Despite your “self critique” I think it’s turning out beautifully!

  6. Lisa

    It is coming along so nicely! Can’t wait to see it finished.

  7. Gigi…it’s lovely!

    …if anyone gets close enough to notice how the pintuck direction affects the dots…slap them!

    The finished blouse will be stunning.

  8. Sally

    It’s looking gorgeous! And–stop being so hard on yourself! Not worth even mentioning.

  9. I love it in white. The pin tucks are so delicate. Wonderful blouse !

    • Jali

      I have made a blouse previously that had directions for making the pintucks on either side of the CF button bands to be pressed separately. Your blouse is coming along very nicely. I can’t wait to see it complete.

  10. I think it looks amazing! I’m the same way…always really critical. I’m about to start working on my shirt again today, wish me luck! haha

  11. Okay you are getting really picky because I never even noticed how the dots were flowing! :) It looks great so far!!!

  12. Dotted Swiss makes me weak in the knees!

  13. Tee

    Blouse bodice is lovely. I take sewing books and patterns along with me for 45-1 hr commute to work. I also take my portable DVD and watch sewing related DVDs.

  14. It looks pretty already – I never would have thought about the pintucks if you hadn’t mentioned it. No one will notice!

  15. I love dotted swiss. And nothing can beat a white blouse.

  16. Your blouse is lovely. You’re inspiring me to get my bum in gear and sew something already!

    And yes, reading sewing books in bed is a great way to end a day.

    Keep up the fine sewing and blogging.

  17. Elaine

    ABSOLUTELY STUNNING!

  18. katharinec

    Wow! That’s a lot of progress from a flat piece of fabric to a princess seam front with pintucks, in under 4 hours. Impressive! I don’t see any funkiness in the front, don’t let perectionism spoil your fun, there is no such thing as a perfect garment. Apply the one-metre rule when in doubt (if it can’t be seen from a metre away, don’t change it).

  19. Melinda H.

    The blouse looks great, you’re doing a wonderful job :)

    My husband totally teases me about reading patterns in bed so it’s nice to hear I’m not the only one who does that!

  20. Sharon

    So lovely! Can’t wait to check your progress! Looking great, step-by-step.

  21. I am in awe of how well your dots and pleats line up! Very professional. I can’t wait to see this blouse.

  22. Pam

    The dotted swiss is so cool!! You have beautiful pleats.

  23. Wow – what beautiful work. I absolutely love that neckline and the detail. Your work shows up so beautifully in this fabric too…can’t wait to see it finished.