That’s it! I’m going to bed.

So, I was trying to finish up one last vacation top tonight and things just weren’t going my way. I’m not 100% happy with the alterations I made to the pattern – in spite of the down-and-dirty muslin I whipped up on Sunday. Then my coverstitch machine started acting up. I did figure out what the problem was – the needle thread wrapped around a spring at the back of the machine. I fix that, manage a few stitches and the looper thread breaks. And breaks again. And again. Sheesh! I think it’s the Maxilock thread. Of course, all of this happens while I am trying to stitch the sleeve hem in the round, on a flat-bed machine!

Here’s my sewing contribution for today: another vintage pattern I purchased on Etsy today. I am always looking for casual tops that are a little different. At first glance, this doesn’t look all that special but check out the shapes of the pattern pieces! Yes, they actually have shape. :-)

front

back

I don’t think I’ll get any more sewing done this week as there’s still so much to do before I go away. I know what I need to do to fix the pattern I was working on tonight so I may try to squeeze that in while it’s still fresh in my mind. I tell you, it is going to kill me to be away from my sewing machines!

8 Comments

Filed under Patterns, vintage, This and that

8 responses to “That’s it! I’m going to bed.

  1. Lindsay T

    I like this top a lot, but why don’t the illustrated models have long Farrah dos? It’d be perfect then.

    • That’s funny, I was thinking the same thing! Those pants are soooo Charlie’s Angels. I should look through my 1970s patterns and see how many models have Farrah hair.

  2. Cute top. Good luck with that. I don’t like to be away from my machine either.

  3. Mechelle

    I thought I was the only person that wanted to take a sewing machine on vacation! Grin!

  4. Oh I love this top! Great find!

  5. Jack

    I saw your blog on the web. Could you give me a push in the right direction? I have a Singer sewing machine Stylist zig-zag model 534 that I obtained from my mothers estate. It is about +/- 30-years old and probably used no more than a half-dozen times. It has been stored about that long as well. I am finally getting around to disposing of it but haven’t a clue as to even its approximate value. If I have a ballpark figure I can list it on eBay. Could you give me a clue?
    Many thanks,
    Jack Foster
    Palm Springs, CA
    760) 861-1052

    PS: Have some great pictures but don’t seem to be able to attach them here. Hmmm, give me a clue and I’ll pass them on. They are eye poppers.

    • Well, Jack, that model, while a good sewing machine, is not particularly valuable. It’s a good machine just not sought after like the older models. Factor in the cost of having it serviced (which it will need after sitting for so long) and I doubt you’d get more than $50 for it, probably much less esp. if you factor in shipping costs. I’d sell it at a yard sale, donate it to charity or give it to someone who wants to learn to sew.

      • Jack

        Gigi, sorry for the delay in responding. Didn’t mean to be rude. I’ve been out of town. Thanks for your advise. I have located a lady who has little but love to sew. Next week I’ll get the Singer to her. Thats for the guidance. Mucho hugs and Merry Christmas.
        Jack