Coverstitch machines

Shirley had asked about my coverstitch machines so here they are. Both are Kansai Specials. This is the W-8103F for collarette binding. The special binders slip onto the post to the right of the foot. This machine is designed for binding only, not for flat work. It has three needles and top and bottom cover.

8103

This is the WX-8803D, a flatbed coverstitch machine with three needles and top and bottom cover. There are attachment holes in the bed for binding plates, belt loop folders, downturn fellers, etc.

8803

15 Comments

Filed under Sewing Machines

15 responses to “Coverstitch machines

  1. Pam ~Off The Cuff~

    Those are some great looking machines!

    …but I think I’d have to take something for anxiety before trying to thread those babies!

    ..one of these days I’ll turn up on your doorstep and beg for a demo…I hear you have a very nice guest-room :0)

    • They do take some time to thread but I always tie on and pull the threads through. Well, sometimes I forget to actually tie the threads and then I have to start from scratch. ;-)

  2. Lust! Serious lust.

  3. Shirley

    Oooh thank you so much for sharing the pics!

    When I started my quest to find out whether it was realistic to use an industrial coverstitch machine for decorative/quilting work, your name kept popping up everywhere.

    You are so the ‘it’ girl of the coverstitch world!

    Thank you!

  4. Wow! they look so intimidating! Nothing at all like my expectations.

  5. I have a three-thread flatbed that I primarily use in 2-thread mode. I call it “the beast” and even though I own it (and I own it), it does still intimidate me at times.

  6. Shirley

    Gigi I’ve gone and purchased an industrial!! Its the W-8103D. The same as your F model but with the flat bed. I’ve asked advice and it seems it will take the binding, folders, fellers etc (I shall know for sure when it arrives)

    Its from ebay so not new, no manual or anything. I hope its fairly straight forward to use… gulp!

    Thank you for giving me the courage to do it!!!

    Shirley

    • No manual is no big deal – these manuals are useless and sometimes hard to understand due to poor translation. They look a little scary but aren’t that difficult to learn.

      • Shirley

        I hoped you would say that! I’m not too worried, there’s usually threading guides online and part of the fun will be exploring it!

        Loving your blog. You are so talented!

  7. Kathy Britton

    Can I ask you a question about sewing a convertible collar without a yoke, based on an old message from Pattern Review?
    I believe your instruction in PR said to fold the facing over the collar and stitch through all layers, stopping 1″ from the shoulder seam and backtack.

    Does that mean to stop before the shoulder seam (at the front) or after the shoulder seam (in the back neck area)? Thanks so much! I’m trying to make my grandsons some shirts this summer! Thanks!

    • Gigi

      Kathy, stop 1″ to the front of the shoulder seam. That way you can tuck a portion of the facing up into the upper collar as well – it just makes a much neater finish. HTH!

  8. Great machines! They look awesome!
    Micki

  9. That is some machine you have there!

  10. Lin

    Is it hard to get parts for these machines? I have heard that they are? How much do they usually cost second hand?

  11. Kaz

    Hi there, I’m a designer who wants to make her own samples. I’m a keen “sewer” (spelling??) and have been sewing straight stitch for many years. I have industrial machines one straight stitch and an overlocker. The overlocker is a five thread twin needle. It’s called a “safety stitch sewing machine” I was told that this is what I needed to sew T-Shirts inc all edging and hems but it has a “straight stitch” that dosn’t stretch. Have been asking around and have been told what I need is a “coverstitch” machine. You have come up as being in the know about these machines. Could you tell me what the “coverstitch” is and will it do all the things I need???
    Kind Regards
    Kaz