Just coming up for air!

Whew, I have been super-busy this past week! The landscaping in the front is finished but I still have to rewire the courtyard lighting – photos to come. I also had to get ready for Bryan’s mother’s visit this past weekend which meant finishing the painting and sewing a duvet cover and pillow shams. I know the colors seem a bit ├╝ber-neutral but I liked the way these fabrics worked with the existing dust ruffle and shams. Plus, they were sooo cheap: I made both for around $25! I am so glad I sew.

A special thank-you goes out to my friend Jim who gave me the treadle base and amazing slab of granite for the bedside table.

jessroom

The shams are supposed to have buttons on the ends but I ran out of time. These are the fastest, easiest shams you will ever make. I kid you not, I made both in about 20 minutes! They are really nothing more than a long pillowcase. I bound the edges in the same microsuede that I used for the bed ruffle.

sham

Yesterday, I got back to work on my Petals In The Breeze top which I finally finished this evening. I found these beautiful black rhinestone buttons in my stash so I decided to use button loops at the center front.

buttons

The contrast was sewn right side to the wrong side of the bodice and then flipped out and topstitched. I used a standard facing at the back. All of the hems were done on my blindstitch machine – very quick and easy.

top

I have also traced off quite a few patterns this past week so I’m going to cut a few more things cut out tonight. We are going on a little vacation soon so I’ll need some cute new tops to wear. I bought four pair of shorts this weekend because I just couldn’t get excited about sewing shorts. Besides, in the time it takes to sew a pair of shorts I can make at least two tops!

14 Comments

Filed under Aren't you glad you sew?, Fabric, Kwik-Sew, Sewing for the Home, This and that

14 responses to “Just coming up for air!

  1. Meredith P

    Admit it! You don’t sleep do you? :-) I’m exhausted reading about the guest room update, but love the results. Would have taken me weeks!

  2. Your top is just perfect. I’m glad that I don’t have a mother in law that I need to impress. I hope she was suitably amazed!

    • The best part about being this old is that I don’t feel the need to impress anyone anymore – except maybe some prospective employer who will rescue me from my life of drudgery at Scrooge & Marley!

  3. That shirt is just amazing. I love the colors and the buttons.

  4. Julie L

    I am very impressed by your new top. It never would have occurred to me to combine the fabrics you chose, but it looks fabulous!!!

  5. The bedroom looks wonderful, Gigi. Very restful and inviting. Enjoy your vacation time in your sure to be adorable new tops!

  6. Both the room and the top are beautiful!

  7. Your home dec project is lovely. I’m sure your MIL must enjoy her visit. Great top also. My goodness–please bottle some of that energy and sell it!

  8. Gigi..the bedroom is perfect…..lovely restful colors for a guest room.

    And that top is just SO cool !

  9. The bedroom looks so calming and restful. What great work. Just reading it all exhausts me.

  10. vernonfashionstudio

    The treadle table is a wonderful addition to the room. The room looks great. Maybe I will get inspired to work on the new comforter and curtains and slipper chair slipcovers for our Master bedroom. Nope, just thinking about all that sewing made me tired. :)

    Great top!

  11. The top turned out so cute. Love those vintage buttons. The duvet and shams look gorgeous. Wow $25, what a bargin.

  12. Sharon

    The bedroom and top are perfect! I always love your color choices. You are like DVF in your color combinations. Love it!