Kwik-Sew 3616: Finished

So, the bad match at the center front of this top was really, really bugging me. Argh. I had these vintage glass buttons in my stash that I thought might detract from my mistake – what do you think?

centerfront

The mismatch is really noticeable in this picture. I don’t know how this happened, I thought I was really careful and precise. Yuck!

buttons

Otherwise, I’m really happy with the way this turned out.

front

I LOOOOOVE the back!

back

Here is a closeup of the sleeve band:

sleeve1

And a peek inside.

sleeve2

24 Comments

Filed under Fabric, Kwik-Sew

24 responses to “Kwik-Sew 3616: Finished

  1. My mom always told me that if someone is as close to your chest as that second picture that they can see the mistake, they are WAY too close. :)

    I think it looks great!

  2. My corollary to Giggles’ statement is that if they are close enough to examine your details, you are allowed to smack them.

    I like the buttons.

  3. The buttons are a great touch. I think the top, as usual for all your work, is exquisite.

  4. Jacqueline

    I love that, I might have to steal that look:)

  5. I think you’re being far too hard on yourself regarding the matching. Your top matches all around about a thousand times better than RTW. I do like the buttons on it too though. Your top is great!

  6. Summerset

    I am so completely jealous!! I loved that fabric in the green, but this colorway is even better. I’m agreeing with Giggles, anyone close enough to notice the very, very slight mismatch is just too close to your chest. The buttons are a fabulous idea, and their style suits the fabric. Wonderful, wonderful top!

  7. Wonderful top, the back is fabulous.

  8. I like the buttons too and think it takes the top up a notch!

  9. I had to look really hard to find the mismatch. If you hadn’t said something no one would have noticed. Non sewers? Never. The button are gorgeous as is the top.

  10. I was at Hancocks’ this afternoon and saw this pattern. After seeing your versions, I should have bought it. You make KS garments look so contemporary with your fabric choices and creations. Beautiful!

  11. I like the buttons, they really add a nice finished touch to the top. That match was just about impossible to get perfect, so don’t be too hard on yourself. Photos can really magnify these things sometimes.

    Love the finished top, truly divine!!

  12. I love this top! But really…what mistake?!

  13. vernonfashionstudio

    As others have said, I tell my students that if someone gets so close to them to notice the mistake, they better be married to you. Anyone married to you should know better than to mention a little tiny imperceptible oopsy.

    Love the buttons! It is a great top. Wear the top with pride!

    I had to laugh at one of my students who questioned why I was making a Kwik Sew pattern since I was so good at sewing. It is amazing what you can do with a Kwik Sew pattern and you have proved my point. I will have to have her check out this Blog entry. It is better than my example.

  14. That is a great top. Wear it with pride.

  15. I didn’t think the “match” was off. Looks good to me either way!

  16. Gigi…this is one stunning top…a work of art.

    (agree with the others…if anyone gets close enough to see that totally minor mis-match….they are NOT looking at your blouse, and you are allowed to demand $50 bucks for the ‘view’, LOL)

  17. Phyllis

    This is is like really good blotter acid…this top is so cool I’m tripping!

  18. What a great job you did! You are inspiring me to sew clothes again!
    Micki

  19. Absolutely love it! It’s perfect!

  20. Gigil

    I’ve always told people about the 3 foot rule. Can you see it from 3 ft while glancing at it. If you have to get closer, you better be married to me!! We sewers are usually so hard on ourselves. My DH & I were shopping a couple years ago and saw a name designer blouse that had big softball sized pink flowers over it. It was gorgeous, until HE pointed out that the back was seamed and one half of one flower was over the other half of the other side of the flower. It was not even close to matching…and the price was $175!!!
    Now, after all that if you really are uncomfortable wearing it…..I’ll take it!!! LOL

  21. I wish I could get comfortable wear those bright bold prints. I love them on everyone, but I seem to always stick to solids.

  22. I think this is a drop dead gorgeous top! I had to look to find your mismatch. The buttons were perfect.

  23. Thanks for this article

  24. Love how it turned out! The buttons work. Good job!