Yep, I’m still here!

The last couple of weeks have been very busy so I just haven’t had the energy to write – or even do much to write about!

The green silk tunic is nearly done. I’m looking for some beads so that I can bead the edges to give the crinkled silk some weight.

I also finished the Layer Cake Quilt – photos of that later. Today I cut out all of the pieces for a large Drunkard’s Path quilt. It will be made entirely out of batik fabrics, 20 prints in all. Interestingly, the instructions (and every quilter and website out there) say to stitch with the convex piece on top. Hmm, as a garment sewer that makes no sense to me whatsoever! When I sew a Princess seam I always stitch with the concave section on top and curve it around the side panel. This is a real piece of cake when you’re working with a 1/4″ seam allowance! Am I missing something? There is even a foot marketed to quilters to help stitch these curved seams. I don’t get it so I will just sew the blocks my way – no pins, no marking.

curve1

curve2

curve3

Parting shots:

Easter Lunch:

My Honey says I make the best Tuna sandwich on the planet. Embarassingly, he tells everyone that and says I should market my recipe. He’s so silly because it’s really nothing special. I start with Bumble Bee Prime Fillet (solid Albacore) and add 1/2 Tbsn of real mayo (none of that reduced or low-fat stuff), 1 Tbsn of real sour cream and 2 tspns of Guldens or Publix brown mustard. That’s it – as I said, no big deal but he raves about it. Bryan likes it melted with cheese, I prefer mine with tomato wedges instead of bread. I like the fact that it’s lighter and more tangy than the traditional all-mayo version.

tuna

The Oncidiums are blooming! OMG, I am so excited about this! My friend Mary’s husband Chris (Orchid Grower Extraordinaire!) gave me a few Oncidium plants about 10 years ago. While his spoil him with literally thousands of little Dancing Ladies, mine never bloomed. Ever. Not one single flower! Well, I had a really tough day on Thursday and it did my heart good to come home to this:

oncidiums

And this is just one of two flower stalks!

I also have more Phals blooming!

phals1

phals2

13 Comments

Filed under misc., Quilting, This and that

13 responses to “Yep, I’m still here!

  1. I’m excited to see the quilts- those look like they’ll be fun. I really love your flowers! I have a brown thumb (I can kill un-killable plants) so I’m always impressed when someone like yourself is able to coax such beautiful things from such a finnicky plant!

  2. cidell

    This is the next step with my quilt, sewing curved edges. I’m not even sweating it because like you, I’ve sewn plenty of curved seams.

  3. I recently finished a Drunkard’s path quilt(http://lacubanitacose.blogspot.com/2009/01/my-brothers-quilt.html)and I sewed mine just like you but I did pin…Your flowers are gorgeous.

  4. Sounds like you’re having fun with the quilts. I found the problem with the curved piecing is–the stretch of the curved seam sometimes causes the block to be off kilter a bit, and not completely square.

    Beautiful flowers.

  5. Lovely fabrics and beautiful flowers!

  6. Teresa

    Simple solution to curved blocks being slightly off-kilter – square them up before proceeding to the next step…or deliberately play up the mismatch as part of your interpretation of that particular design.

  7. Oh I love your flowers!!!

  8. OMGosh…your flowers are beautiful!

    ..and I agree, as a garment sewer I never understood the big deal about sewing any curved seams…and I’m no genius, LOL…experienced perhaps…but a curved seam is just another seam to me.

  9. Summerset

    I have to agree about the curved seams – considering the amount of them we see in garments, encountering one in a quilt isn’t a big deal.

    Love the tuna! I like your addition of sour cream. I always have to have dill pickles in mine, though.

  10. Sewist

    I recall being told to sew one piece over the other in a beginning sewing class, but can’t remember which one. I don’t think it matters if you baste the pieces. (I know you’re not doing that.)

  11. Enid

    Your flowers are gorgeous! and thanks for the Tuna sandwich recipe…I am not a fan of tuna sandwiches..but this one piques my interest.
    Your quilt is going to be lovely.
    I am thinking about starting a quilt, as it would be something I can pick up and do a bit at a time. My life has been upside down since my husband passed away last July and sewing has been hard to concentrate on. So I think quilting is the way to go.

  12. Doris W. in TN

    Gigi – welcome to The Dark Side (a/k/a quilting). LOL! Quilting is my no-brainer sewing. I find it refreshing, after dealing with fit, FBAs, darts, and zippers. Enjoy!

  13. As another garment sewer, curved seams are a piece of cake. I do mine just like yours, but I pin the start , the center and the end. Whatever works is my motto. I LOVE your flowers!