Bah!

So…the freemotion/darning foot for my industrial machine broke. It was old old, it couldn’t help it, I guess. Suffice it to say that I am not happy about that. You see, my choices are quite limited as most domestic high-shank feet will not properly fit an industrial – the needle just doesn’t line up properly. Industrial darning/quilting feet are pretty much limited to the banana foot:

banana

or the spoon foot:

spoon

and I hate them both. I guess I will have to come up with some other idea.

12 Comments

Filed under Accessories, Sewing Machines

12 responses to “Bah!

  1. Okay, this begs the question: why do you dislike these feet so much?

  2. ‘Cause I can’t see where I’m going!

  3. Linda T

    Those are bizarre looking things! Are they shaped like that for another purpose besides freemotion?

  4. Mardella

    My mom always did her free motion embroidery without any foot at all. This was on a Singer 301A, don’t know anything about your commercial machine. Might be worth a try.

  5. Mechelle

    Maybe the free motion foot that fits the Juki TL-98Q would fit???

  6. You can free motion without a foot. Some people prefer it because they have a clear view. Just keep your fingers out of the way of the needle!

  7. Not knowing how/where it broke, but can it be welded back together?????

  8. I worked with a girl who did her free motion on an industrial machine also without a foot. She would remove the foot, lower the presser foot, and control the fabric herself. This was on wedding gowns. It worked, but I have to admit that it scared me to death, and one time she did hit her finger. Be aware, or beware, your choice!

  9. I have a similiar foot to the one that broke, and if it happened to me, I would try these 2 industrial machine vendors–send them a photo, don’t bother to phone. I’ll also ask my always capable repair guy if he has one too–good luck!

    Ace Sewing Machine
    214 E. 8th St., Los Angeles, CA 90014
    (213) 622-8345

    Kato’s Sewing Machine (attn: Alvin)
    604 E 1st St, Los Angeles, CA 90012
    (213) 628-2365

  10. Erica

    Perhaps the upward curve of the banana foot could be taken off, leaving just a slim short foot you can see around.

  11. Irene

    What about this one, which is designed for the Juki TL home industrial:

    http://www.raichert.com/azsewingstore/p-JTLF7.htm