Quilt top 101

I had this afternoon off so I thought it would be a good time to pop in a DVD and piece the top of my Moda Layer Cake quilt. It’s a one-patch, forty 10″ pieces. I don’t have a design wall so I decided to use my just-vacuumed-and-mopped living room floor for the layout. I discovered that my digital camera is very handy as a “third eye”. I played with it and played with it until I said “good enough”!

quilttop

So, all the pieces have been put together. The inner and outer borders are next. Then comes the fun part! My friend Sharon calls the piecing “foreplay”, lol. We both like the free-motion quilting – it’s very relaxing – and I am anxious to move onto that. I plan on quilting this with hot pink thread. Piecing? Eh, it’s okay, I guess.

3 Comments

Filed under Quilting

3 responses to “Quilt top 101

  1. cidell

    I’m interested to see how you do the quilting on top. I have never actually done that. I’ve done stitch in the ditch along the borders and just tied the rest. But, I want to actually quilt the one that I’m working on.

  2. You’ll enjoy the free motion quilting when you get in the rhythm. I like the idea of using pink thread.

  3. Wow! I love all the fabrics you are using. You’ve always had an eye for colors and fabrics. Can’t wait to see the final quilt. :)